Call Me Adnan

by Reem Faruqi

On Sale: 06/13/2023

Call Me Adnan

Enlarge Book Cover

Call Me Adnan

by Reem Faruqi

On Sale: 06/13/2023

Format:

CYBILS Awards

About the Book

"An emotional tale of a family’s grief and healing, full of courage and hope" —Kirkus Reviews

"Faruqi renders this tender story of loss with a deft hand, employing vivid details surrounding Adnan’s Pakistani Muslim identity . . . and nuanced characterizations to present a tear-jerking ode to family." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"A realistic, moving exploration of family, loss, and healing." —ALA Booklist

"Faruqi takes on the difficult subject of family loss with beauty and grace in her gentle, lyrical style. She allows Adnan, a young table tennis enthusiast, to go through grief while holding not just sadness but love and joy, in an honest and nuanced story that is ultimately filled with hope." —Veera Hiranandani, Newbery Honor author of The Night Diary

For fans of Planet Omar and The Ethan I Was Before, award-winning Pakistani author Reem Faruqi of Unsettled delivers a middle grade novel in verse about table tennis player Adnan, who dreams of the championship and a fun-filled family trip to Florida. But when tragedy strikes, he and his family must cope with a terrible loss and come together as one again. This poignant story about a Muslim family learning to heal is hope-filled and moving.

Adnan Zakir loves table tennis. He's also colorblind and left-handed and has a fondness for the aviation alphabet. He's super close with his sister, Aaliyah, who is a great dancer and memorizer of the Quran, and he loves his little toddler brother, Rizwan, who only wants to grow up and play table tennis like his big brother. 

All Adnan dreams of is making it to the Ultimate Table Tennis Championship in Florida, and if he qualifies for the tournament, he knows he will get to spend the Eid holiday with his cousins. But when the family travels there, unthinkable tragedy strikes, and Adnan swears he'll never play table tennis ever again. Slowly, he and his family must learn to make peace and move forward, as a family.

A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection!

A Cybils Finalist Award for Poetry!

Critical Praise

"Faruqi depicts strong community bonds, seamlessly interweaving Adnan’s Pakistani Muslim identity... an emotional tale of a family’s grief and healing, full of courage and hope." — Kirkus Reviews

"Faruqi renders this tender story of loss with a deft hand, employing vivid details surrounding Adnan’s Pakistani Muslim identity... and nuanced characterizations to present a tear-jerking ode to family." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063284944
  • ISBN 10: 0063284944
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 06/13/2023
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Stories in Verse (see also Poetry)
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Sports & Recreation / General

Call Me Adnan by Reem Faruqi

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.