The Scarlet Veil

by Shelby Mahurin

On Sale: 09/26/2023

The Scarlet Veil

Enlarge Book Cover

The Scarlet Veil

by Shelby Mahurin

On Sale: 09/26/2023

Format:

About the Book

An instant NEW YORK TIMES and INDIEBOUND BESTSELLER!

This dark and thrilling romantasy—set in the world of the New York Times bestselling Serpent & Dove series—is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas!

Célie Tremblay has always been a good girl: kind and beautiful, a daughter of whom every parent would be proud. She surprises the entire kingdom when she defies tradition to become the first huntswoman—including her new captain and fiancé, Jean Luc, who rules the huntsmen with an iron fist. He isn’t the only one concerned for Célie’s safety, however. Though her friends try to protect her from the horrors of her past, mysterious whispers still haunt her, and a new evil is rising in Belterra—leaving bodies in its wake, each one drained of blood.

Determined to prove herself in her new role, Célie tracks the killer to the lair of Les Éternels—ancient creatures only spoken about in nursery rhymes—and catches the attention of their king, a monster who hides his plans for her behind beautiful words and sharp smiles. Now Célie has new reason to fear the dark because the closer he gets, the more tempted she feels to give in to his dark hunger—and her own.


Critical Praise

"[A] rollicking fantasy duology starter . . . horror-inflected action, puckish humor, and heady romance enliven both the twisty central mystery and Célie’s journey of self-discovery." — Publishers Weekly

". . . A story to sink one’s teeth into." — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Blood & Honey: “In Lou’s world she not only finds her voice, but makes men take notice and change their views of women. With so many twists and turns, this book is a must for fans of the first.” — School Library Journal

“Seductive, steamy, and satisfying. Mahurin has delivered a fearless and captivating sequel that has me hooked. This is officially one of my favorite series ever.” — Adalyn Grace, New York Times bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth

“Decadent and dangerous, Blood & Honey was exactly the book I needed at precisely the right time. The rich cast of characters captivated me, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store next for this merry band of miscreants.” — Reneé Ahdieh, New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath & the Dawn series

"Blood & Honey grabbed me by the throat. Shining with irreverent humor and brutal heartache, every magical word is rendered beautifully throughout the many twists and harrowing turns. Mahurin delivers a triumphant return to Belterra. — Isabel Ibañez, author of Woven In Moonlight

“A breathless, breathtaking continuation of the magical world Mahurin has created pits the strength of love against the need to protect those one loves…at any cost. Would you lose your soul to save someone else’s? Blood & Honey doesn’t just address this question; it slams the reader into the story - and that existential question - in a brilliant, unending roller-coaster ride.”  — Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Small Great Things and A Spark of Light

Praise for Serpent & Dove: “Drips with intrigue and shadow.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“A brilliant debut, full of everything I love: a sparkling and fully-realized heroine, an intricate and deadly system of magic, and a searing romance that kept me reading long into the night. Serpent & Dove  is an absolute gem of a book.”
Sarah J Maas, #1 New York Times  bestselling author of A Court of Thorns and Roses series

“Will cast a spell on romance fans.” — Kirkus Reviews

?“Mahurin has taken the witch and witch hunter trope and made it new again. The world-building will draw in readers and Lou’s strong but wistful nature will keep them turning pages.” — School Library Journal

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063258754
  • ISBN 10: 0063258757
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 09/26/2023
  • Pages: 640
  • List Price:26.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Vampires
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Paranormal
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Historical
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Wizards & Witches
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fantasy / Dark Fantasy
  • BISAC6 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural

The Scarlet Veil by Shelby Mahurin

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.