Seven Percent of Ro Devereux

by Ellen O'Clover

On Sale: 01/17/2023

Seven Percent of Ro Devereux

Enlarge Book Cover

Seven Percent of Ro Devereux

by Ellen O'Clover

On Sale: 01/17/2023

Format:

About the Book

Fans of Emma Lord, Rachel Lynn Solomon, and Alex Light will love this clever, charming, and poignant debut novel with a masterful slow-burn romance at its core about a girl who must decide whether to pursue her dreams or preserve her relationships, including a budding romance with her ex-best friend, when an app she created goes viral.

Ro Devereux can predict your future. Or, at least, the app she built for her senior project can.

Working with her neighbor, a retired behavioral scientist, Ro created an app called MASH, designed around the classic game Mansion Apartment Shack House, that can predict a person’s future with 93% accuracy. The app will even match users with their soulmates. Though it was only supposed to be a class project, MASH quickly takes off and gains the attention of tech investors.

Ro’s dream is to work in Silicon Valley, and she’ll do anything to prove to her new backing company—and the world—that the app works. So it’s a huge shock when the app says her soulmate is Miller, her childhood best friend with whom she had a friendship-destroying fight three years ago.

Now thrust into a fake dating scenario, Ro and Miller must address the years of pain between them if either of them will have any chance of achieving their dreams. And as the app takes on a life of its own, Ro sees that it’s affecting people in ways she never expected—and if she can’t regain control, it might take her and everything she believes in down with it.

Critical Praise

"An exhilarating, wholly original debut that explores the nature of human behavior alongside a gorgeous slow-burn romance. I’m obsessed with everything about this book, from the immersive Colorado setting to the clever plot twists to the love story that had me pressing a hand to my chest. Ellen O'Clover writes with an unforgettable voice that instantly makes her characters feel like real people—the kind you want to wrap in a blanket so nothing bad happens to them ever again. Seven Percent of Ro Devereux has one hundred percent of my heart." — Rachel Lynn Solomon, New York Times bestselling author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

“Gorgeously written, full of intelligent heart, Seven Percent of Ro Devereux is a captivating love story within a vivid modern update of questions of designing your future and decoding the love you’re meant to find. We’re 100% in love with this wonderful debut.” — Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of If I'm Being Honest

“Both masterful and effortless, Seven Percent of Ro Devereux broke my heart and mended it anew. With gut wrenching prose and a timeless slow burn romance, Ro and Miller’s story will ensure Ellen O’Clover is your new favorite author. Stunning.”
Kelsey Rodkey, author of Last Chance Books

"Unlike anything I’ve read before. These characters tug at your heartstrings and refuse to let go until the very last chapter. Memorable, romantic and a poignant comment on human connection. My favorite book of the year.”
Alex Light, author of The Upside of Falling

"Interesting ideas explored along the way about free will and ambition, and Ro’s family experiences, including Vera’s illness, provide for convincing emotional drama... the central focus of the story is on the romance, which will please fans of the genre. A thoughtful meditation on some weighty questions wrapped in a well-drawn romance." — Kirkus Reviews

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063255036
  • ISBN 10: 0063255030
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 01/17/2023
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Science & Technology
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Careers, Occupations, Internships
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Parents

Seven Percent of Ro Devereux by Ellen O'Clover

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.