Mixed-Up Mooncakes

by Christina Matula, Erica Lyons

On Sale: 09/10/2024

Mixed-Up Mooncakes

by Christina Matula, Erica Lyons

illustrated by Tracy Subisak

On Sale: 09/10/2024

Format:

About the Book

This beautiful tribute to fall festivals—Mid-Autumn Festival and Sukkot—celebrates family, multicultural heritage, and the bounty of the season. Give this to readers who love Two New Years and The Very Best Sukkah.

It’s time for Ruby and her family to celebrate two extra-special harvest holidays. For the Mid-Autumn Festival, she and Nainai pick out fruit, nuts, and red chrysanthemums from the store. And with Zayde, Ruby buys a lulav and etrog from the market for Sukkot.

But something is missing to truly combine these two celebrations. Can Ruby figure out the perfect way to blend the Jewish holiday of Sukkot and the Chinese Mid-Autumn Festival?

Authors Christina Matula and Erica Lyons, along with talented artist Tracy Subisak, have created a glorious homage to two important holidays while also highlighting the importance of creative problem solving.

Critical Praise

"Lovely. The authors and illustrator effectively convey the fundamentals of both holidays to newcomers while also providing readers of Chinese and Jewish descent with a wonderful mirror that reflects their experiences. A much-needed exploration of the intersection of two significant Chinese and Jewish holidays." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063254718
  • ISBN 10: 0063254719
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 09/10/2024
  • Pages: 32
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Cooking & Food
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Asian American
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Religious / Jewish
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC7 : JUVENILE FICTION / Holidays & Celebrations / Other, Non-Religious
  • BISAC8 : JUVENILE FICTION / Holidays & Celebrations / Other, Religious

Mixed-Up Mooncakes by Christina Matula, Erica Lyons

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.