Finding Things

by Kevin Henkes

On Sale: 05/14/2024

Finding Things

by Kevin Henkes

illustrated by Laura Dronzek

On Sale: 05/14/2024

Format:

About the Book

From bestselling and award-winning husband-and-wife team Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek, Finding Things is a child-centered, cozy, and conceptually rich picture book that explores storytelling, connections, luck, nature, and responsibility. For readers of Antoinette Portis, Marla Frazee, and Laura Vaccaro Seeger.

If you were on a walk and found a ball, you could take it home and play with it. You are likely to find many other wonderful things as you explore the world—maybe even a new friend—and that makes you very lucky.

Award-winning creators Kevin Henkes and Laura Dronzek’s collaborations are always exceptional; full of vivid and deceptively simple observations of the world around us. Finding Things features a succinct text and exquisite, emotionally rich illustrations, and it encourages readers to be creative and to find purpose and connections in what surrounds them. A terrific read-aloud to treasure and share, as well as a great title for visual literacy and emerging readers, Finding Things is also a wonderful choice for social and emotional learning.

Critical Praise

“When a seemingly throwaway piece of text, like an object that is lost, sticks around long enough to turn into a story, that’s a picture book. When the illustrations elevate the words the way these do, that’s a masterpiece. A manual for constructing a contented life, this book makes children look deeper and behave with deliberation.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“In a straightforward narrative that speaks directly to children, Henkes reflects on the treasures that are hidden in plain sight, just waiting for someone to see their potential. . . . The text is utterly true to a kid’s world in acknowledging limits. . . . This well-crafted picture book is simple, intriguing, and well attuned to its audience.” — Booklist (starred review)

“Serendipitously encountered objects present themselves as truly valuable in this compact, thoughtful story about paradise found.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“An ode to noticing the little things. . . . Using no more words than you might find in a beginning reader, Henkes once again demonstrates his mastery for boiling a story down to its most essential parts. . . all painted with bright acrylic colors that pop off the page. Each element is as accessible as it is ripe for speculation. Found objects sometimes yield the simplest pleasures. Consider this book one such example.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The story taps into the inherent caretaking tendencies of many young children. . . . Perfect for emerging readers. . . . Tableaux, dominated by simple square shapes, are reduced to their essentials: ball, flower, box, kitten—all “happy” in a warm home because the child took the time to notice them.” — Horn Book Magazine

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063245662
  • ISBN 10: 0063245663
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 05/14/2024
  • Pages: 32
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / General
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Nature & the Natural World / General (see also headings under Animals)
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / General (see also headings under Family)

Finding Things by Kevin Henkes

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.