Out of Character

by Jenna Miller

On Sale: 02/07/2023

Out of Character

Enlarge Book Cover

Out of Character

by Jenna Miller

On Sale: 02/07/2023

Format:

About the Book

Dumplin’ meets Geekerella in debut author Jenna Miller’s queer, body-positive love story that explores online and offline relationships in all of their messiness.

If you asked seventeen-year-old Cass Williams to describe herself, she’d happily tell you she’s fat, a lesbian, and obsessed with the Tide Wars books. What she won’t tell you—or anyone in her life—is that she’s part of an online Tide Wars roleplay community. Sure, it’s nerdy as hell, but when she’s behind the screen writing scenes as Captain Aresha, she doesn’t have to think about her mother who walked out or how unexpectedly stressful it is dating resident cool girl Taylor Cooper.

But secretly retreating to her online life is starting to catch up with Cass. For one, no one in her real life knows her secret roleplay addiction is the reason her grades have taken a big hit. Also? Cass has started catching feelings for Rowan Davies, her internet bestie . . . and Taylor might be catching on.

As Cass’s lies continue to build, so does her anxiety. Roleplaying used to be the one place she could escape to, but this double life and offline-online love triangle have only made things worse. Cass must decide what to do—be honest and risk losing her safe space or keep it a secret and put everything else on the line. 

Critical Praise

"Out of Character is a warm, charming story, unafraid to tackle more serious topics, while exploring reality, fantasy, and the magic that can be found at the intersection of the two." — Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Five Feet Apart

“Utterly enchanting and fantastically nerdy, Out of Character is full of heart, found family, and first love. With friends like these, heartbreak doesn’t stand a chance. A lovely debut!”  — Ashley Poston, New York Times bestselling author

"Out of Character is a heartfelt reminder that real life can be way more complicated than fantasy realms, and that—even if they aren't packed with pirates or warships or epic battles—friendships, family, and love can be truly legendary."  — Jason June, New York Times bestselling author

"Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Kelly Quindlen, Out of Character is an effortless blend of fandom, friendship, and firsts with a can’t-miss romance. Miller’s earnest debut will instantly capture readers’ geeky hearts!" — Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions

"Bursting with heart and filled with endearing characters I couldn’t help but adore, Out of Character is an unputdownable tale of complex relationships online and off that charmed me from the first page and lingered with me long after the last. I loved it!" — Meredith Tate, author of Shipped

"Heartfelt and honest, Miller’s Out of Character is a perfect love letter to online fan communities. Miller expertly weaves a wonderfully body positive tale of a girl navigating the choppy waters of adolescence and first love that is sure to leave readers smiling long after the book ends." — Jennifer Dugan, author of Some Girls Do

"Full of heart and humor, Jenna Miller’s Out of Character is a love letter to fandoms, online friendships, and self-acceptance. I adored this debut and its take on how the greatest role you can play is the one truest to yourself!" — Amelia Coombs, author of Exactly Where You Need to Be

"Geek-tastic! A celebration of all the best parts of internet friendships. This is the perfect story for readers who have lost themselves in a fictional world in order to find themselves in this one." — Lana Wood Johnson, author of Speak for Yourself

"Starring a heartfelt and relatable heroine and filled with sapphic wholesomeness, Out of Character is a joy to read from cover to cover. A love letter to found family, Cass’s story is as sweet and comforting as a fresh plate of waffles." — Jen Wilde, author of Queens of Geek

"A funny, unflinchingly honest look at what it means to be your most authentic self both online and off. Cass is written like a real teen—just as layered as her beloved Tater Tot hotdish. After reading Out of Character, I’m officially a member of Jenna Miller’s fandom." — Brian Kennedy, author of A Little Bit Country

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063243323
  • ISBN 10: 0063243326
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 02/07/2023
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Marriage & Divorce
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Computers & Digital Media
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT
  • BISAC6 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Romantic Comedy

Out of Character by Jenna Miller

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.