It’s Boba Time for Pearl Li!

by Nicole Chen

On Sale: 02/28/2023

It’s Boba Time for Pearl Li!

Enlarge Book Cover

It’s Boba Time for Pearl Li!

by Nicole Chen

On Sale: 02/28/2023

Format:

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang and Jessica Kim, this joyful, moving middle grade contemporary follows a big-hearted Taiwanese American girl as she aims to gain her family’s acceptance and save her favorite boba tea shop by selling her handcrafted amigurumi dolls. 

Pearl Li is ready to spend the summer before seventh grade hanging out with her two best friends, crocheting the cutest amigurumi dolls, and visiting her favorite tea shop, Boba Time. Its quirky owner, Auntie Cha, is the only adult Pearl can confide in about her art—if only her tech-obsessed family would understand her love of crafts! 

After Pearl learns of Boba Time’s financial troubles, she decides to sell her amigurumi to raise money for the shop. But as she navigates the ups and downs of running a business, Pearl realizes that monetizing her passion is more complicated than she could’ve ever imagined. Can Pearl save Boba Time before it’s too late? 

Featuring fun backmatter—including a delicious boba tea recipe—this is a heartfelt story about advocating for your passions and uncovering big truths about friendship, family, and entrepreneurship along the way.  

Critical Praise

“The book’s genuine tone and appreciation of craft, culture, and community will capture readers’ attention. A well-crafted tale filled with heart.” — Kirkus Reviews

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063228610
  • ISBN 10: 0063228610
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 02/28/2023
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Asian American
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Business, Careers, Occupations
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Parents
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Art & Architecture
  • BISAC7 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural

It’s Boba Time for Pearl Li! by Nicole Chen

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.