This Is Not a Personal Statement

by Tracy Badua

On Sale: 01/17/2023

This Is Not a Personal Statement

Enlarge Book Cover

This Is Not a Personal Statement

by Tracy Badua

On Sale: 01/17/2023

Format:

About the Book

Admission meets American Panda in this propulsive, poignant YA contemporary novel about a teen who, after getting rejected from her dream college, forges her own acceptance and commits to living a lie. Perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi! 

At sixteen, Perla is the youngest graduating senior of the hypercompetitive Monte Verde High. Praised—and not-so-quietly bashed—as “Perfect Perlie Perez,” Perla knows all the late nights, social isolation, and crushing stress will be worth it when she gets into the college of her (and her parents’) dreams: Delmont University. 

Then Perla doesn’t get in, and her meticulously planned future shatters. In a panic, she forges her own acceptance letter, and next thing she knows, she’s heading to Delmont for real, acceptance or not. Soon, Perla is breaking into dorm rooms, crashing classes, and dodging questions from new friends about her lack of a student ID. Her plan? Gather on-the-ground intel to beef up her application and reapply spring semester before she’s caught.  

But as her guilty conscience grows and campus security looms large, Perla starts to wonder if her plan will really succeed—and if this dream she’s worked for her entire life is something she even wants. 

From rising star Tracy Badua comes a gripping, incisive tale of acceptance, self-discovery, and the infinite possibilities that await when we embrace our imperfections. 

Critical Praise

“I read this book with my heart in my throat, increasingly breathless as I turned the pages. This Is Not a Personal Statement is both a poignant coming-of-age and a carefully plotted story of a lie that quickly spirals out of control. Tracy Badua is an author to watch.” — Rachel Lynn Solomon, New York Times bestselling author of See You Yesterday and Today Tonight Tomorrow

“At turns humorous, painful, and heartfelt, Perla’s story speaks to how we can lose ourselves to parental and communal expectations and how we can find our way back.” — Randy Ribay, award-winning author of Patron Saints of Nothing

"A compelling read that will speak to the many readers who will understand [Perla's] motivations all too well. An intense and heartfelt romp." — Kirkus Reviews

Attentively examining themes of guilt and outside pressures with cultural nuance and plenty of good-humored scheming, Badua cultivates a high-stakes narrative of self-discovery and the dangers in pursuing perfection.  — Publishers Weekly

“Full of thoughtful exploration of the pressure of immigrant parents and elitism in college admissions.” — School Library Journal

“Not only is this book endlessly compelling, it is a master class in character.”  — Buzzfeed

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063217751
  • ISBN 10: 0063217759
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 01/17/2023
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / United States / Asian American
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / School & Education / College & University
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC6 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Parents

This Is Not a Personal Statement by Tracy Badua

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.