Play the Game

by Charlene Allen

On Sale: 01/31/2023

Play the Game

Enlarge Book Cover

Play the Game

by Charlene Allen

On Sale: 01/31/2023

Format:

About the Book

From debut author Charlene Allen comes a captivating YA contemporary mystery and coming-of-age story, celebrating the power of friendship, first love, and exploring the criminal justice system from the lens of restorative justice. Perfect for fans of Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, and Maureen Johnson.

In the game of life, sometimes other people hold all the controls. Or so it seems to VZ. Four months have passed since his best friend Ed was killed by a white man in a Brooklyn parking lot.

When Singer, the man who killed Ed, is found dead in the same spot where Ed was murdered, all signs point to Jack, VZ’s other best friend, as the prime suspect.

VZ’s determined to complete the video game Ed never finished and figure out who actually killed Singer. With help from Diamond, the girl he’s crushing on at work, VZ falls into Ed’s quirky gameiverse. As the police close in on Jack, the game starts to uncover details that could lead to the truth about the murder.

Can VZ honor Ed and help Jack before it’s too late?  

Critical Praise

"A compelling look at different ways of approaching grief and justice." — Kirkus Reviews

“Powerful. Authentic. A riveting gut punch. This is how you galvanize young activists. A voice not soon to be forgotten.”  — Tiffany D. Jackson, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Blood

“Honest, raw, and absolutely alive. Play the Game is a tour de force, and Charlene Allen has announced herself as a powerful new voice." — Matt de la Peña, author of Mexican WhiteBoy and Last Stop on Market Street

“Fast-paced, insightful, and highly relevant, Allen’s novel illustrates the application of restorative justice practices to real life situations. A must read for all young people impacted by racism and those adults who love them.”
Angela Y. Davis, Distinguished Professor Emerita, UC Santa Cruz

"Compelling story." — Booklist

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063212794
  • ISBN 10: 006321279X
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 01/31/2023
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Prejudice & Racism
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Law & Crime
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION: Thrillers & Suspense / Crime

Play the Game by Charlene Allen

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.