Friends Beyond Measure

by Lalena Fisher

On Sale: 02/28/2023

Friends Beyond Measure

by Lalena Fisher

illustrated by Lalena Fisher

On Sale: 02/28/2023

Format:

Bank Street Children’s Best Books of the Year

Cooperative Children’s Book Center Choice

Mathical Books Prize

About the Book

A CCBC 2024 Choices for the Picture Books category!

A Chicago Public Library Best of the Best!

A 2023 Horn Book Best of the Year—Picture Book

"A loving tale inventively and informatively told." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A uniquely told story that will delight all readers. Highly recommended." School Library Journal (starred review)

“Clever, whimsical, and jam-packed with details.” The Horn Book (starred review)

"A friendship story chronicled through charts, graphs, and maps." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

This is THE next book for fans of Mapping Sam and My Map Book! Told exclusively through charts and graphic illustrations, infographics designer Lalena Fisher explores the touching friendship of Ana and Harwin and how they work through their emotions when one friend learns the other is moving far away.

Friends Beyond Measure explores the world of infographics, including maps, diagrams, charts, timelines, and so much more! From the chart showing how to make fairy tea to the Venn diagram of the friends’ personalities, every page is filled with delicious details for the reader to pore over.

Ana and Harwin’s friendship has been off the charts since day one! But when Harwin learns her family is going to move far away, the duo isn’t sure how their friendship can survive the move.

See how their friend-o-meters calibrate in this imaginative, heartwarming story by beloved picture book creator and infographic designer Lalena Fisher. 

An ideal read-aloud for classrooms, libraries, and homeschooling, this book includes back matter that explains all about the different types of charts and graphics in the book and gives suggestions for readers to create charts of their own.  

Readers will love all the fun details in this rich and visual story! And they’ll engage in critical thinking while analyzing and evaluating the images.

Critical Praise

“A loving tale inventively and informatively told.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A uniquely told story that will delight all readers. Highly recommended."  — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Clever, whimsical, and jam-packed with details” — Horn Book (starred review)

“A friendship story chronicled through charts, graphs, and maps… When narrator Ana, an inveterate “charter” portrayed with brown skin, meets white-presenting Harwin at a fair, their commonalities and unique qualities become the subject of the book’s first chart…Subsequent spreads chronicle their deepening connection, using different kinds of visuals, each rendered in energetic pencil and marker cartooning… A glossary of charts with activities concludes this social-emotional dataviz accounting.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063210523
  • ISBN 10: 0063210525
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 02/28/2023
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / General (see also headings under Family)
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / General

Friends Beyond Measure by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.