The Game She Plays

A Novel

by Siena Sterling

On Sale: 06/06/2023

The Game She Plays

Enlarge Book Cover

The Game She Plays

A Novel

by Siena Sterling

On Sale: 06/06/2023

Format:

About the Book

From the author of Tell Us No Secrets comes a twisty new novel. A young American woman is thrust into the closed social circle of English aristocrats, but beneath their charm and glamor lay secrets and dark betrayals that follow them—and her—around every corner. Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley, Sherry Lapena, Ruth Ware, and Gilly MacMillan. 

To everyone else it was “just” a weekend house party—complete with a pheasant shoot, inside jokes, and after-dinner games. But for American Nicola Harris, swept off her feet by aristocratic Englishman James Shuttleworth, the weekend is her first chance to penetrate his close-knit circle of posh friends—people with names like Badger and Trez, people who will soon have the titles of Earl and Countess. Nicola is eager to fit in, but she can’t seem to navigate this insular world, where everyone speaks a private language and secrets are hinted at behind the jolly jokes and witty barbs.

Just as Nicola begins to feel welcome, Juliet arrives. Mysterious, stunning, charismatic Juliet is also James’ first love—the one who left him heartbroken ten years before. Juliet holds the men in thrall and the women under her spell. And although it seems she can do no wrong, outsider Nicola senses something poisonous in her presence, something that sparks insecurity, jealousy, betrayal, and violence. Because Juliet is a champion game-player, able to lure you into her circle by finding your most vulnerable spot....and when the game she plays turns deadly, everyone is a suspect. 

Critical Praise

“Fans of Ruth Ware will love The Game She Plays. Pour your favorite beverage and settle in for a delicious master class in manipulation, as Nicola meets her new man’s upper crust friends in an English manor house. What could go wrong, right?” — Wendy Webb, author of The Stroke of Winter

"Set in 1970 at a girls’ boarding school in Lenox, Massachusetts, Sterling’s novel is both a gripping psychological thriller and a not-so-nostalgic look back at a time of massive social upheaval. . . Both evocative and provocative, Sterling’s blend of thriller and coming-of-age tale is deeply affecting and full of unexpected twists." — Booklist (starred review) on Tell Us No Secrets

“A slow-burn psychological thriller filled with well-developed characters that builds to a satisfying, if unsettling, conclusion. Sterling is a writer to watch.” — Publishers Weekly on Tell Us No Secrets

Tell Us No Secrets, the debut novel by American journalist Siena Sterling, has all the ingredients for a slow-simmering stew of teenage angst that will leave readers relieved that they are no longer in high school.” — Crime Fiction Lover on Tell Us No Secrets

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063161849
  • ISBN 10: 0063161842
  • Imprint: William Morrow Paperbacks
  • On Sale: 06/06/2023
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Mystery & Detective / General
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Contemporary Women

The Game She Plays by Siena Sterling

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.