How It All Ends

by Emma Hunsinger

On Sale: 08/06/2024

How It All Ends

Enlarge Book Cover

How It All Ends

by Emma Hunsinger

illustrated by Emma Hunsinger

On Sale: 08/06/2024

Format:

About the Book

How It All Ends is hilarious, inventive, smart, and silly, and perfectly captures the overwhelming confusion, anxiety, and joy of a young gay crush.” —Alice Oseman, bestselling author of Heartstopper

“Emma Hunsinger’s sharp wit and eclectic humor shines in this fantastic story about making new friends and surviving school. I simply adore her work as a writer and an artist.” —Dan Santat, National Book Award winner for A First Time for Everything

“Imaginative and hysterical, and with the sort of rare, clear-seeing honesty that will make any reader feel less alone in the world. I loved it.” —Eliot Schrefer, two-time National Book Award finalist and New York Times bestselling author

“Emma Hunsinger is a master at revealing human emotion through comedy and absurdism. How It All Ends is a hilarious, surreal, and deeply sincere story about finding yourself in a situation that you don't feel ready to face and making your way through it anyway.” —Sarah Sax, author of Picture Day

How It All Ends felt like Emma Hunsinger's inner child asking my own inner child, 'Hey, you want to sit together?' I've never felt so healed by a book. I can't wait to give it to everyone I know.” —Adib Khorram, award-winning author of Darius the Great Is Not Okay

A funny, vulnerable, and disarming debut graphic novel from Emma Hunsinger, the creator of the popular “How to Draw a Horse.” How It All Ends is a book about being overwhelmed by who you are and who you might be—and all the possibilities in between. For fans of Snapdragon, The Magic Fish, Heartstopper, and New Kid.

Thirteen-year-old Tara lives inside the nonstop adventure of her imagination. It’s far more entertaining than dull, everyday life. But when she’s bumped from seventh grade directly to high school, she gets a dramatic jolt to reality.

Now Tara is part of a future she doesn’t feel at all ready for. She's not ready to watch the racy shows the high school kids like, or to listen to the angsty music, or to stop playing make-believe with her younger brother. She’s not ready to change for PE in front of everyone, or for the chaos of the hallways, or for the anarchy of an English class that’s overrun with fourteen-year-old boys.

But then there’s Libby.

Tara doesn’t know whether she’s ready for Libby. She can’t even explain who Libby is to her because she doesn’t know yet. She just knows that everything’s more fun when she and her new classmate are together. But what will happen next? How will it all end?

This debut graphic novel is a clever and candid portrait of a young girl grappling with the pressures of fitting in, finding your people, and sorting through confusing feelings. Emma Hunsinger has a pitch-perfect ear for the awkward yet endearing moments that accompany growing up, and her illustrations are downright hilarious. She brilliantly captures the humor and the horror of self-discovery and the first blushes of having a crush. How It All Ends deftly explores how unbearable—but exciting!—it is to grow up. 

Critical Praise

“A whirlwind dive into the chaotic imagination of a tween experiencing her first crush. The protagonist, Tara, doesn't quite understand her romantic feelings for another girl, but the force and warmth of them explodes from the page. Hunsinger is a master of capturing feelings and desires that the protagonist doesn't themselves recognize or understand. How It All Ends is hilarious, inventive, smart and silly, and perfectly captures the overwhelming confusion, anxiety, and joy of a young gay crush.” — Alice Oseman, bestselling author of Heartstopper

“Emma Hunsinger’s art is earnest, playful, and achingly perceptive. Pretty sure I’d die for Tara, and I’m head over heels for this book.” — Becky Albertalli, New York Times–bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

“This funny, brilliant, debut had me laughing out loud. How It All Ends is one of the best graphic novels I’ve read this year.”" — Johnnie Christmas, award-winning author of Swim Team

“Imaginative and hysterical, and with the sort of rare clear-seeing honesty that will make any reader feel less alone in the world. I loved it.” — Eliot Schrefer, two-time National Book Award Finalist and New York Times–bestselling author

“Emma Hunsinger’s sharp wit and eclectic humor shines in this fantastic story about making new friends and surviving school. I simply adore her work as a writer and an artist.” — Dan Santat, National Book Award winner of A First Time for Everything

How It All Ends felt like Emma Hunsinger's inner child asking my own inner child, 'Hey, you want to sit together?' I've never felt so healed by a book. I can't wait to give it to everyone I know.” — Adib Khorram, award-winning author of Darius the Great Is Not Okay

“Emma Hunsinger is a master at revealing human emotion through comedy and absurdism. How It All Ends is a hilarious, surreal, and deeply sincere story about finding yourself in a situation that you don't feel ready to face and making your way through it anyway.” — Sarah Sax, author of Picture Day

How It All Ends brilliantly captures the exquisite terror of growing up in a touching story that celebrates sisterhood, first crushes, and the beauty and struggle of finding the you that you want to be. Straight, gay, metalhead, pop fanatic, or just really into corn, readers of all stripes will fall in love with Tara, Isla, Libby, and Jessup. Ironically, you won't ever want How It All Ends to end.” — Alex London, bestselling author of Proxy and The Princess Protection Program

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063158153
  • ISBN 10: 0063158159
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 08/06/2024
  • Pages: 304
  • List Price:31.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Humorous
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / LGBT
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Siblings

How It All Ends by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.