The Great Zoodini

by PJ Gardner

On Sale: 07/23/2024

The Great Zoodini

Enlarge Book Cover

The Great Zoodini

by PJ Gardner

On Sale: 07/23/2024

Format:

About the Book

From the author of the Horace & Bunwinkle series comes this hilarious and heartwarming story of forgiveness, trust, and found family, perfect for fans of A Boy Called Bat and Wedgie & Gizmo.

The Great Zoodini—aka Radar the fennec fox—has never fit in. In fact, his only friend is a stuffed rabbit. Ever since his first family abandoned him, he’s had one goal: become world famous and show everyone how wrong they were about him. But no matter how many daring escapes Zoodini’s tried, he’s never even made the Association of Animal-Themed Attractions newsletter.

When his latest escape goes wrong, Zoodini winds up at the Twin Buttes Animal Sanctuary and Drive-In Movie Theater. He can’t believe his bad luck. How can he get famous in the middle of nowhere? But the residents—ranging from a pink-obsessed flamingo to an astrology-loving river otter to a grizzly cub who thinks he’s a superhero—all seem to like Zoodini. Even more surprising, he likes them too.

Then Zoodini overhears a plot to sell the sanctuary and sees his big chance—breaking out by himself would go unnoticed, but breaking everyone out? That would make him world famous. But what if being famous means losing the only family who’s ever accepted him?

Critical Praise

“The schemes are wacky, and the animal characters are quirky yet endearing.... Adorable anthropomorphic exploits with emotional depth.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Readers will want to stay along for the ride and feel-good finale, ferried by a bighearted crew.”  — Publishers Weekly

“Full of heart and hijinks, The Great Zoodini is a heartwarming tale of finding family and freedom in the tradition of Chicken Run and The Great Escape!” — John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling writer and artist of InvestiGators

?“A rip roaring tale filled with plenty of laughs, heartfelt emotion, and nonstop action—a guaranteed hit for readers who love funny adventure stories! — Carolyn Crimi, author of Secondhand Dogs and Weird Little Robot

"Hilarious animal antics and charming characters, woven with wit into a heartwarming tale of compassion and acceptance. A humorous and rewarding adventure about belonging and home.” — Celesta Rimington, author of The Elephant's Girl

Praise for Horace & Bunwinkle: “Gardner’s debut tale of mystery and (eventual) bucolic bliss brings to mind Joan Carris and Noah Z. Jones’ Bed & Biscuit series. Graduates of the Mercy Watson books will also feel right at home. Mottram’s occasional illustrations just add to the charm….This kicks off a series, and readers will be glad to know that this piggie and pooch will pair up again.” — Kirkus Reviews

PRAISE FOR Horace & Bunwinkle: "I know a thing or two about animals who investigate mysteries, and Horace and Bunwinkle have what it takes, doing so with pluck and charm. Kids will be delighted by the curiosity and caring natures of these adorable, adoptive, crime-solving siblings!" — John Patrick Green, New York Times-bestselling writer and artist of InvestiGators

PRAISE FOR Horace & Bunwinkle: “Horace and Bunwinkle are a delightful pair. Sweet and funny, their antics will keep young readers eagerly turning the page.” — Suzanne Selfors, bestselling author of Wedgie & Gizmo and The Imaginary Veterinary Series

PRAISE FOR Horace & Bunwinkle: “Meet Horace and Bunwinkle, two unlikely friends and Pet-tectives! This funny, charming duo will leave readers eager for more.” — Bobbie Pyron, author of the award-winning A Dog’s Way Home and critically acclaimed Stay

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063134713
  • ISBN 10: 0063134713
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 07/23/2024
  • Pages: 208
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Foxes
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Zoos
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories

The Great Zoodini by PJ Gardner

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.