It’s Powwow Time!

by Martha Troian

On Sale: 09/10/2024

It’s Powwow Time!

by Martha Troian

illustrated by Hawlii Pichette

On Sale: 09/10/2024

Format:

About the Book

This lyrical and joyful picture book celebrates new experiences and community traditions when a young boy learns to dance at his first powwow. It’s Powwow Time! is for readers of Cynthia Leitich Smith’s Jingle Dancer and Oge Mora’s Thank You, Omu!

Bineshii is looking forward to his first powwow. He wakes up and travels with his mother to the community event. He eats bannock and drinks strawberry juice as he watches the dancers perform. And ever so slowly, Bineshii works his way from the edge of the circle watching the dancers to inside the circle itself, dancing and celebrating with everyone else. 

Award-winning journalist Martha Troian’s child-centered text and Hawlii Pichette’s action-packed illustrations build excitement on the page as Bineshii’s curiosity and confidence grows. It’s Powwow Time! explores the rewards of being open to new experiences while also serving as a beautiful and informative introduction to a First Nations powwow. 

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063116665
  • ISBN 10: 0063116669
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 09/10/2024
  • Pages: 32
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Native American
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / Senses & Sensation
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / Sounds
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION: People & Places/Indigenous Peoples of Turtle Island/Teachings
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC7 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

It’s Powwow Time! by Martha Troian

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.