When I Wrap My Hair

by Shauntay Grant

On Sale: 01/02/2024

When I Wrap My Hair

by Shauntay Grant

illustrated by Jenin Mohammed

On Sale: 01/02/2024

Format:

About the Book

In the vein of I Am Enough and Hold Them Close, this inspiring and beautiful picture book celebrates how hair wrapping ties together past and present.

When I wrap,

my roots run deep.

As deep as an African marketplace

or a city sidewalk

or the stories between them.

With lyrical text by acclaimed author Shauntay Grant and vibrant illustrations by Jenin Mohammed, When I Wrap My Hair is both an act of joyful recognition and a demonstration of how knowledge is passed through generations.

Critical Praise

“Artfully created.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Lyrical. This is indeed a book of Black joy.” — Booklist

“This message of positivity and cultural connection is simply written yet strikingly brought to life in images that reflect an everlasting bond to rituals. Enchanting.” — School Library Journal

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063093911
  • ISBN 10: 006309391X
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 01/02/2024
  • Pages: 32
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American

When I Wrap My Hair by Shauntay Grant

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.