Five Bad Deeds

A Novel

by Caz Frear

On Sale: 12/05/2023

Five Bad Deeds

Enlarge Book Cover

Five Bad Deeds

A Novel

by Caz Frear

On Sale: 12/05/2023

Format:

About the Book

"An involving, layered, and thrilling story of secrets, lies, and revenge, Five Bad Deeds takes us far beneath the surface of suburban bliss into the dark heart of human desire. . . . Riveting!" —Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six

“[A] devastating suspense novel. . . . A must-read for fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Acclaimed, internationally bestselling author Caz Frear ratchets up the suspense in this outstanding standalone psychological thriller—a gripping tale of revenge, loyalty, and the secrets hidden between the walls of the most beautiful home in town.

Ellen Walsh has done something very, very bad. If only she knew what it was . . .

Teacher, mother, wife, and all-around good citizen Ellen is juggling nonstop commitments, from raising a teen and two toddlers to job-hunting to finally renovating her dream home, the Meadowhouse. Amidst the chaos, an ominous note arrives in the mail, declaring:

People have to learn there are consequences, Ellen.

And I’m going to teach you that lesson.

Right under your nose.

Why would someone send her this? Ellen has no clue. She’s no angel—a white lie here, an occasional sharp tongue there—but nothing to incur the wrath of an anonymous enemy. She’d never intentionally hurt anyone.

But intention doesn’t matter to someone. Someone blames this supposed “good person” for all the bad they’ve experienced. And maybe they have reason to? Because few of us get through life without leaving a black mark on someone else’s. Could the five bad deeds that come to haunt Ellen explain why things have gone so horribly wrong? 

As she races to discover who’s set on destroying her reputation and her future, Ellen continues to receive increasingly threatening messages . . . each one hitting closer to everything she cherishes.

Critical Praise

“Caz Frear, with her almost freakish gift for witty, rapid-fire dialogue and sharp observations, gives this portrait of a flawed woman targeted for destruction the tone of a screwball comedy, albeit an edgy one. I confess to not guessing the identity of Ellen’s tormentor, but belatedly realizing the clues were there all along, lurking in the quiet spaces among all that coruscating prose. Well played, Ms. Frear.” — Air Mail

“Fans of Three Perfect Liars and any other domestic thriller will love Caz Frear’s latest.” — Katie Couric Media

"A big high-five for Caz Frear's Five Bad Deeds—a page-gripping, nail-gnawing good read." — Cara Hunter, New York Times bestselling author of Murder in the Family 

"Caz Frear writes with depth, intensity and insight as she relentlessly turns the screws of suspense. An involving, layered, and thrilling story of secrets, lies, and revenge, Five Bad Deeds takes us far beneath the surface of suburban bliss into the dark heart of human desire. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. Riveting!" — Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of Secluded Cabin Sleeps Six

“[A] devastating suspense novel . . . .This is a must-read for fans of Tana French and Gillian Flynn.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Exceptional. . . . quickly ramps up the fear factor. . . . Five Bad Deeds skillfully taps into the ennui of small-town life, frenemies, and jealous relatives.”
Oline Cogdill, Shelf Awareness

“Deliciously wicked.” — Crimereads, Most Anticipated Crime Fiction of Fall

“A psychological triumph. . . . Well-plotted and deliciously edgy.” — Kirkus Reviews

"A twisty domestic-suspense thriller. . . will likely appeal to readers of Shari Lapena, Sally Hepworth, Jamie Day, and Melissa Adelman.” — Booklist

"A dark, addictive, suburban nightmare. Five Bad Deeds is an edge-of-your-seat, up-all-night delight." — Chris Whitaker, New York Times bestselling author of We Begin at the End

"Brilliant . . . so clever and the characters felt real. Whip-smart and perfectly executed." — C.J. Tudor

"An utterly compelling, superbly characterized, constantly fascinating mystery. I read with my eyes inches from the pages as each new reveal unfolded, and the final reveal was superb." — Gytha Lodge, author of A Killer in the Family

"Deliciously waspish, twisty, and relatable." — Claire McGowan, author of Are You Awake? and What You Did

“A suspenseful novel about revenge and justice.” — The Story Exchange

“I’ve been a Caz Frear fan ever since I discovered her Cat Kinsella series, and with Five Bad Deeds, Frear blends another seriously twisty storyline with her unmistakable, signature wit. But this suspenseful tale is so much more as it digs into how we perceive ourselves vs. how we’re seen by others, and you may find yourself wondering what seemingly innocuous things you’ve done in your past that others will never forgive you for. Smart, cunning, and compelling, Five Bad Deeds will surprise you page after page until the very end. A fantastic, binge-worthy read!”  — Hannah Mary McKinnon, internationally bestselling author of The Revenge List

?“A page-grippingly good read.” — National Examiner

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063091108
  • ISBN 10: 0063091100
  • Imprint: Harper
  • On Sale: 12/05/2023
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:37.00 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Thrillers / Domestic
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC4 : FICTION / World Literature / England / 21st Century

Five Bad Deeds by Caz Frear

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.