Some Mistakes Were Made

by Kristin Dwyer

On Sale: 05/10/2022

Some Mistakes Were Made

Enlarge Book Cover

Some Mistakes Were Made

by Kristin Dwyer

On Sale: 05/10/2022

Format:

About the Book

Sarah Dessen meets Adam Silvera in the debut YA romance everyone is talking about!

“A breathtaking tour de force of angst and longing. Heartbreaking, painfully romantic, and deeply human.” —STEPHANIE GARBER, #1 bestselling author of Caraval

“A novel you can make yourself at home in, with characters so real it feels like you’ve known them for ages.” —JENNA EVANS WELCH, bestselling author of Love & Gelato

“This book comes with its own aching heartbeat. Be forewarned, it’s stronger than it looks.” —STACEY LEE, award-winning author of The Downstairs Girl

Ellis and Easton have been inseparable since childhood. But when a rash decision throws Ellis’s life—and her relationship with Easton—into chaos, she’s forced to move halfway across the country, far from everything she’s ever known.

Now Ellis hasn’t spoken to Easton in a year, and maybe it’s better that way; maybe eventually the Easton-shaped hole in her heart will heal.

But when Easton’s mom invites her home for a visit, Ellis finds herself tangled up in the web of heartache, betrayal, and anger she left behind . . . and with the boy she never stopped loving.

Critical Praise

“The slow-build romance is swoonworthy, and young adult fans of Colleen Hoover seeking emotional devastation and unforgettable characters will find much to enjoy here. A powerful tale of found family and first love.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Readers will desperately root for ­Ellis and Easton in this unforgettable romance. A perfectly emotional read for fans of Nicola Yoon and Becky Albertalli, this coming-of-age romance is one not to miss.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

"An emotionally layered and strikingly romantic debut."  — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A breathtaking tour de force of angst and longing. Heartbreaking, painfully romantic, and deeply human.” — Stephanie Garber, #1 bestselling author of Caraval

“Funny, romantic, and heartfelt. A stunning debut!” — Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Creatures 

"A novel you can make yourself at home in, with characters so real it feels like you’ve known them for ages. I loved the family dynamic, the slow burn, all of those gorgeous lines so clear and startling they lift off the page, and the way it made my heart slowly (but surely) shatter. This one will stick with you." — Jenna Evans Welch, New York Times bestselling author of Love & Gelato

"A deeply human story of first love, found family, and the heartbreak of losing them both. With vulnerable prose that is at turns achingly tender and others hilarious, readers will laugh through their tears. SOME MISTAKES WERE MADE is a profoundly honest exploration of identity, friendship and learning to let go. This is the kind of book you return to again and again."
New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young 

"SOME MISTAKES WERE MADE made me feel. Dwyer writes with such wit and honesty, I was at turns laughing out loud and then crying my eyes out. These characters will stay with me forever, and I'm only heartbroken there wasn't another chapter to devour." — Isabel Ibanez bestselling author of Woven in Moonlight

"This book comes with its own aching heartbeat. Be forewarned, it's stronger than it looks." — Stacey Lee, award winning author of LUCK OF THE TITANIC

“Beautiful, heartbreaking, and ultimately hopeful. This is a rare gift of a novel.” — Robyn Schneider, bestselling author of The Beginning of Everything

"SOME MISTAKES WERE MADE is a gorgeous meditation on shattered dreams and making amends, found family and loyalty and what it means to sacrifice for the people we love most.  Dwyer’s debut is brimming with hope and love amidst angst, longing, heartache, and the bittersweetness of growing up. It is tender and romantic, vulnerable and sincere, but it is never ever cheesy. I was rooting for Easton and Ellis from the very first page."
Ashley Woodfolk, acclaimed author of WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING and THE BEAUTY THAT REMAINS

"Some Mistakes Were Made is the angsty romance of my dreams. I wanted to linger in Kristin Dwyer’s beautiful prose forever and savor all the perfect, vivid details. But once I started this special book, I just couldn’t put it down!" — Elise Bryant, author of Happily Ever Afters

“Gorgeously romantic and compulsively readable. Some Mistakes Were Made and these flawed, unforgettable characters wrecked my heart and then repaired it, filling the cracks with hope and possibility. A captivating story of first love, first heartbreak, and the delicate beauty of second chances.” — Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

"Dwyer's debut reaches into the complexities of family and societal pressure and draws out a one-of-a-kind narrative of the pain and passion of reuniting broken bonds. With vivid prose and heart-stopping romance, Some Mistakes Were Made is the powerful entry of a gorgeous new voice." — Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka, authors of Always Never Yours

"Some Mistakes Were Made is full of lyrical prose that weaves a story as gut-wrenching as a Sally Rooney novel while showcasing the vulnerability found in a Katie Cotugno book. You are holding in your hands the next big, bold, and beautiful thing in YA!" — Isabella Ogbolumani, Children's Bookseller & Events Coordinator, >Buffalo Street Books

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063088535
  • ISBN 10: 0063088533
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 05/10/2022
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Class Differences
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / Alternative Family

Some Mistakes Were Made by Kristin Dwyer

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.