Alias Anna

A True Story of Outwitting the Nazis

by Susan Hood, Greg Dawson

On Sale: 03/22/2022

Alias Anna

Enlarge Book Cover

Alias Anna

A True Story of Outwitting the Nazis

by Susan Hood, Greg Dawson

On Sale: 03/22/2022

Format:

About the Book

The moving true story of how young Ukrainian Jewish piano prodigies Zhanna (alias “Anna”) and her sister Frina outplayed their pursuers while hiding in plain sight during the Holocaust. A middle grade nonfiction novel-in-verse by award-winning author Susan Hood with Greg Dawson (Zhanna’s son).

She wouldn’t be Zhanna. She’d use an alias. A for Anna. A for alive.

When the Germans invade Ukraine, Zhanna, a young Jewish girl, must leave behind her friends, her freedom, and her promising musical future at the world’s top conservatory. With no time to say goodbye, Zhanna, her sister Frina, and their entire family are removed from their home by the Nazis and forced on a long, cold, death march. When a guard turns a blind eye, Zhanna flees with nothing more than her musical talent, her beloved sheet music, and her father’s final plea: “I don’t care what you do. Just live.” 

This incredible true story in-verse about sisterhood, survival, and music is perfect for fans of Lifeboat 12, Inside Out and Back Again, and Alan Gratz.

Includes extensive back matter with original letters and photographs, additional information, and materials for further reading.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

This lyrical book is one of the most truthful survivor stories I’ve ever read. I think this book will be a page-turner for adolescents.  - Jack Kliger, President and CEO of the Museum of Jewish Heritage

A profound and powerful story of the Holocaust, told with heart, soul, and music. - Kathryn Lasky, Newbery Honoree and winner of the National Jewish Book Award

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063083899
  • ISBN 10: 0063083892
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 03/22/2022
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / History / Holocaust
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Poetry / General
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Music

Alias Anna by Susan Hood, Greg Dawson

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.