Every Time a Rainbow Dies

by Rita Williams-Garcia

On Sale: 05/25/2021

Every Time a Rainbow Dies

Enlarge Book Cover

Every Time a Rainbow Dies

by Rita Williams-Garcia

On Sale: 05/25/2021

Format:

ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults

ALA Booklist Editors’ Choice

ALA Top 10 Best Book for Young Adults

New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

Publishers Weekly Best Book

Texas Library Association Tayshas High School Reading List

About the Book

From Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Award winner Rita Williams-Garcia, Every Time a Rainbow Dies is a moving, lyrical, and diverse love story—perfect for fans of One Crazy Summer who are ready for an older voice.

Dreamy Thulani spends most of his time up on the roof, taking care of the flock of doves in the cote and watching the streets of Brooklyn bustle below him.

He is up there on the day he sees a girl being brutally attacked in an alley.

Though the girl makes it clear she wants nothing more to do with him after he helps her home, he can’t stop thinking about her. Is she okay? What is her name? Would she be scared if he tried to talk to her?

Suddenly, for the first time since his mother died, Thulani finally has a reason to come down from the roof. But as much as he wants to care for this girl, Ysa—more fragile and fiercer than his birds—she will not trust easily. Is it possible to shelter someone who needs to be free? 

First published in 2001, the novel has now been repackaged with gorgeous new cover art. Previously available only as an e-book, this remarkable novel is now back in print!

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“One of the most powerful new voices in young adult literature, Garcia explores loss and love, identity, and self-determination…” - Riverbank Review

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063079267
  • ISBN 10: 0063079267
  • Imprint: Quill Tree Books
  • On Sale: 05/25/2021
  • Pages: 176
  • List Price:13.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Depression
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Violence

Every Time a Rainbow Dies by Rita Williams-Garcia

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.