How to Excavate a Heart

by Jake Maia Arlow

On Sale: 11/01/2022

How to Excavate a Heart

Enlarge Book Cover

How to Excavate a Heart

by Jake Maia Arlow

On Sale: 11/01/2022

Format:

About the Book

Stonewall Honor author Jake Maia Arlow delivers a sapphic Jewish twist on the classic Christmas rom-com in a read perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuiston.

It all starts when Shani runs into May. Like, literally. With her mom's Subaru.

Attempted vehicular manslaughter was not part of Shani's plan. She was supposed to be focusing on her monthlong paleoichthyology internship. She was going to spend all her time thinking about dead fish and not at all about how she was unceremoniously dumped days before winter break.

It could be going better.

But when a dog-walking gig puts her back in May's path, the fossils she's meant to be diligently studying are pushed to the side—along with the breakup.

Then they're snowed in together on Christmas Eve. As things start to feel more serious, though, Shani's hurt over her ex-girlfriend's rejection comes rushing back. Is she ready to try a committed relationship again, or is she okay with this just being a passing winter fling?

Critical Praise

"A tonic and a testament for the times. Warming as hot chocolate in a blizzard; a familiar favorite made fresh from scratch." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Brilliantly witty, achingly vulnerable, and utterly irresistible, this book will dig its way into your heart and stay there for a very long time.” — Misa Sugiura, award-winning author of It's Not Like It's A Secret

“Funny, tender, and impossibly charming, this is the fossil-filled Jewish Christmastime romance of my dreams. Arlow is a welcome and wonderful voice in queer YA.” — Rebecca Podos, Lambda-award winning author of Like Water

“Funny, sincere, and real, with a poignancy that sneaks up on you. Arlow is one of the freshest new voices in young adult fiction." — Kelly Quindlen, bestselling author of She Drives Me Crazy

"One of the cleverest, most insightful voices I've read in a long time. If I wasn't laughing, I was clutching my heart to keep it from shattering. A stellar YA debut." — Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow

"Jake Arlow takes the best elements of a cozy holiday movie and combines them with her totally unique and hilarious voice. This honest story of first love and second chances warmed my Grinch-like heart!" — Gabby Noone, author of indie bestseller Layoverland

"Capturing the wonder and thrill of first love during the tumultuous journey that is recovering from heartbreak and entering young adulthood, HOW TO EXCAVATE A HEART is a beautiful testament to queer joy and personal growth. Shani will make you laugh, cry, and cheer for her until the very last page. A remarkable gem." — Racquel Marie, author of Ophelia After All

"With wit and chemistry that crackle like a roaring fire, the warmth and sweetness of gourmet hot cocoa, and the surprising softness of a gentle snowfall, How to Excavate a Heart truly gave me the romantic winter break of my dreams. You'll want to savor every word, and then run and recommend it to everyone you know." — Dahlia Adler, author of Cool for the Summer

"How to Excavate a Heart is a delightful read! Arlow writes realistic, voicey characters who leap off the page." — Meryl Wilsner, author of Mistakes Were Made

“HOW TO EXCAVATE A HEART is a can’t-miss romance full of swoons, laughter, heartbreak and healing, and an epic pup in snow booties.”  — Jennifer Dugan, author of Some Girls Do

How to Excavate a Heart is a tumultuous tale of two college students navigating coming out, falling in love, and the classic lesbian ex situation. I saw so much of myself in both Shani and May and felt addicted to their story; truly couldn’t put it down." — Erica Sullivan, 2021 Olympic Silver Medalist

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063078727
  • ISBN 10: 0063078724
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 11/01/2022
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / LGBT
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Romantic Comedy
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Holidays & Celebrations

How to Excavate a Heart by Jake Maia Arlow

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.