The Upper World

by Femi Fadugba

On Sale: 12/07/2021

The Upper World

Enlarge Book Cover

The Upper World

by Femi Fadugba

On Sale: 12/07/2021

Format:

About the Book

If you had the chance to change your future, would you take it?

Perfect for fans of Neal Shusterman and Jason Reynolds, this powerhouse, mind-bending YA debut follows two teens, a generation apart, whose fates collide across time—and outside of it.

Today

During arguably the worst week of Esso’s life, an accident knocks him into an incredible world—a place beyond space or time, where he can see glimpses of the past and future. But if what he sees there is true, he might not have much longer to live, unless he can use his new gift to change the course of history.

Tomorrow

Rhia’s past is filled with questions, none of which she expects a new physics tutor to answer. But Dr. Esso’s not here to help Rhia. He’s here because he needs her help—to unravel a tragedy that happened fifteen years ago. One that holds the key not only to Rhia’s past, but to a future worth fighting for.

Soon to be a major Netflix movie starring Oscar winner Daniel Kaluuya! (Get Out, Black Panther, Judas and the Black Messiah)

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"To have a book that marries real London life, time travel, and relativity in an illuminating and entertaining way is stuff I used to dream about. I had The Upper World in my hands until I finished it. So happy this exists." - Daniel Kaluuya

"A time-twisting, mind-bending thrill ride. If I could read at the speed of light, I would have!" - Holly Jackson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

"The Upper World took everything I thought I knew about physics, time, space, and energy, and twisted it into a new, electrifying story that I couldn't put down!" - Brittney Morris, nationally bestselling author of Slay

“A mind-bending thriller that takes you to modern-day London and then twists reality back in on itself. Tenet has nothing on The Upper World.” - Maureen Johnson, New York Times bestselling author of the Truly Devious series

"Fadugba’s debut dazzles, particularly when it comes to dialogue—the London slang flows with ease. A riveting thriller that creatively incorporates scientific elements." - Kirkus Reviews

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063078598
  • ISBN 10: 0063078597
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 12/07/2021
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Time Travel
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age

The Upper World by Femi Fadugba

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.