The Train Home

by Dan-ah Kim

On Sale: 04/18/2023

The Train Home

by Dan-ah Kim

illustrated by Dan-ah Kim

On Sale: 04/18/2023

Format:

About the Book

When a young girl wishes for a quiet place to call her own, her imagination takes her on a journey to discover the endless possibilities. Author-artist Dan-ah Kim’s stunning picture book is an exploration of creativity, family, and the true meaning of home for fans of Carson Ellis’s Home and Kobi Yamada’s What Do You Do with an Idea?

Nari lives in a rowdy home in a crowded city. She sometimes wishes she lived somewhere else, somewhere quiet that she has all to herself. So when a train rumbles by her window, Nari goes on a journey to find her dream home.

Could it be in a vibrant garden? A colorful coral reef under the sea? Even up among the stars? Hmmm . . . what if those places are too quiet, or so beautiful she wants to share them? Maybe the train can take her back home, where she truly belongs.

Like Dan-ah Kim’s debut The Grandmaster’s Daughter, The Train Home is an inventive picture book about creativity and imagination. The accessible text is a terrific read-aloud that perfectly complements the stunning and detailed artwork. The Train Home is an irresistible choice for story-time sharing and anyone who has ever let their train of thought wander. 

Critical Praise

“Nari lives in a small, crowded apartment in a diverse, bustling city. Among the chatter from her grandparents, the arguing from her parents, the whining from her little sister, and noise from their neighbors, she finds little respite. As she watches a passing train, she wonders if she 'can take it . . . and find her dream home. . . .' This spare narrative, with its graceful illustrations, gently makes its point—sometimes we need a little distance to appreciate what truly matters. A quiet, imaginative, and tender tale of finding home.”  — Kirkus Reviews

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063076914
  • ISBN 10: 0063076918
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 04/18/2023
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Transportation / Railroads & Trains
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural

The Train Home by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.