The Train Home

by Dan-ah Kim

On Sale: 04/18/2023

The Train Home

by Dan-ah Kim

illustrated by Dan-ah Kim

On Sale: 04/18/2023

Format:

Chicago Public Library Best of the Best

New York Public Library’s Best Books for Kids

About the Book

When a young girl wishes for a quiet place to call her own, her imagination takes her on a journey to discover the endless possibilities. Author-artist Dan-ah Kim’s stunning picture book is an exploration of creativity, family, and the true meaning of home for fans of Carson Ellis’s Home and Kobi Yamada’s What Do You Do with an Idea?

Nari lives in a rowdy home in a crowded city. She sometimes wishes she lived somewhere else, somewhere quiet that she has all to herself. So when a train rumbles by her window, Nari goes on a journey to find her dream home.

Could it be in a vibrant garden? A colorful coral reef under the sea? Even up among the stars? Hmmm . . . what if those places are too quiet, or so beautiful she wants to share them? Maybe the train can take her back home, where she truly belongs.

Like Dan-ah Kim’s debut The Grandmaster’s Daughter, The Train Home is an inventive picture book about creativity and imagination. The accessible text is a terrific read-aloud that perfectly complements the stunning and detailed artwork. The Train Home is an irresistible choice for story-time sharing and anyone who has ever let their train of thought wander. 

Critical Praise

“Nari lives in an apartment that’s too full and in a city that’s too loud. Watching the train rumble by her window, she dreams of taking it someplace quiet just for her: a treetop nest, under the sea, or outer space. . . . Even in Nari’s quiet times, Kim’s illustrations are a riot of color and delicate details; young readers will love to explore the different worlds Nari visits in her imagination. . . . A quiet ode to imagination, the need for quiet, and the reassurance that one can always come back home.” — School Library Journal (starred review)

“Nari lives in a small, crowded apartment in a diverse, bustling city. Among the chatter from her grandparents, the arguing from her parents, the whining from her little sister, and noise from their neighbors, she finds little respite. As she watches a passing train, she wonders if she 'can take it . . . and find her dream home. . . .' This spare narrative, with its graceful illustrations, gently makes its point—sometimes we need a little distance to appreciate what truly matters. A quiet, imaginative, and tender tale of finding home.”  — Kirkus Reviews

“Nari’s city household can be a challenging place . . . Maybe the train can carry her to a quieter place? . . . When the train carries Nari far into outer space, where ‘everything is beautiful,’ she wishes her family were there, and it’s not long before she is ready to be back among them. Kim affirms the push and pull of life for a city child who loves her family and finds needed sanctuary in the quiet of her own company." — Publishers Weekly

“An enchanting look at a child’s quest for belonging. . . . Kim’s mixed-media art is dynamic, subtly blending realism with touches of whimsy and lush naturalistic detail. The palette is equally pleasing, with just the right distinctions between cityscapes and dreamscapes. This understated and creative picture book takes on the theme of being true to oneself and ends with the realization that ‘there’s no place like home.’” — Horn Book Magazine

“The subway train runs right past Nari’s lively New York City apartment building, and she imagines riding it to far-flung destinations that offer quiet spaces away from the bustling city and her boisterous family and neighbors. . . . A creative adventure, a charming homage to New York City, and a sweet reminder that home is truly where the heart is.” — BookPage

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063076914
  • ISBN 10: 0063076918
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 04/18/2023
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:24.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Transportation / Railroads & Trains
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural

The Train Home by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.