To Boldly Go: How Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek Helped Advance Civil Rights

by Angela Dalton

On Sale: 01/17/2023

To Boldly Go: How Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek Helped Advance Civil Rights

by Angela Dalton

illustrated by Lauren Semmer

On Sale: 01/17/2023

Format:

About the Book

Perfect for fans of Hidden Figures and Mae Among the Stars! To Boldly Go tells the true story of Nichelle Nichols and how she used her platform on Star Trek to inspire and recruit a new generation of diverse astronauts and many others in the space and STEM fields.

As Lieutenant Uhura on the iconic prime-time television show Star Trek, Nichelle Nichols played the first Black female astronaut anyone had ever seen on screen. A smart, strong, independent Black woman aboard the starship Enterprise was revolutionary in the 1960s when only white men had traveled to outer space in real life and most Black characters on TV were servants.

Nichelle not only inspired a generation to pursue their dreams, but also opened the door for the real-life pioneering astronaut Sally Ride, Dr. Mae Jemison, and more.

This empowering tribute to the trailblazing pop culture icon reminds us of the importance of perseverance and the power of representation in storytelling. You just might be inspired to boldly go where no one like you has ever gone before!

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063073210
  • ISBN 10: 0063073218
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 01/17/2023
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Performing Arts
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Women
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / History / United States / 20th Century

To Boldly Go: How Nichelle Nichols and Star Trek Helped Advance Civil Rights by Angela Dalton

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.