Treasure in the Lake

by Jason Pamment

On Sale: 09/07/2021

Treasure in the Lake

Enlarge Book Cover

Treasure in the Lake

by Jason Pamment

illustrated by Jason Pamment

On Sale: 09/07/2021

Format:

IndieBound Indie Next List

About the Book

Grand adventures stories often begin where you least expect them…

Iris knows this because she’s read them all. However, as a thirteen-year-old stuck in the tiny town of Bugden, real adventure seems like a distant dream. But when Iris and her best friend, Sam, stumble upon an unusually dry river on the outskirts of town, they’re led to a discovery beyond anything Iris has ever read about: a hidden city and a forgotten tale of friendship.

In Jason Pamment's middle grade graphic novel debut, perfect for fans of Hilda and This Was Our Pact, can Iris and Sam uncover the truth in time to keep their own friendship afloat, or will history repeat itself and pull them apart forever?

An ALSC Graphic Novel Reading List Title

Critical Praise

This story is astonishing enough to leave people speechless. — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Hand this mesmerizing tale about hidden histories and friendship growth spurts to cautious and intrepid young explorers alike. — Horn Book Magazine

A strong story about friendship that incorporates fantasy and whimsy; fans of “Hilda” and Adventure Time will be charmed. A great addition to any middle school library collection. — School Library Journal

In this graphic novel debut, Australian animator Pamment showcases a sharp eye for architecture, natural settings, and dynamic compositions, allowing rectangular panels to expand, contract, and break form, crashing down or shattering into shards, in this fine-tuned puzzle.  — Publishers Weekly

Pamment’s art is intricate and generous, and he proves as sensitive to young readers’ urge for adventure and mystery as he does to the stakes of their friendships and emotional lives. — Booklist

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063065185
  • ISBN 10: 0063065185
  • Imprint: HarperAlley
  • On Sale: 09/07/2021
  • Pages: 208
  • List Price:28.50 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Nature & the Natural World / Environment
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Action & Adventure

Treasure in the Lake by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.