Brothers in Arms

A True World War II Story of Wojtek the Bear and the Soldiers Who Loved Him

by Susan Hood

On Sale: 10/04/2022

Brothers in Arms

A True World War II Story of Wojtek the Bear and the Soldiers Who Loved Him

by Susan Hood

illustrated by Jamie Green

On Sale: 10/04/2022

Format:

About the Book

Brothers in Arms is the remarkable true story of an orphaned bear cub who grew into a World War ll hero alongside his brothers in arms from award-winning author Susan Hood and star illustrator Jamie Green. Perfect for fans of Finding Winnie. 

Wojtek was just an orphaned bear cub (yes, an actual wild bear!) when a group of teenaged Polish soldiers, many of whom were orphans themselves, took him into their ranks during World War ll. Wojtek quickly became a beloved and important member of the Polish II Corps. Together with his brothers in arms, Wojtek helped his friends turn the tide of World War II. 

This incredible true story teaches young readers about the history of World War II while also underscoring the life-changing power of teamwork and the enduring bonds of friendship and love in the face of adversity.

The picture book includes extensively researched back matter based on interviews with the soldiers and their descendants, photographs, additional resources, further reading, and more!

Critical Praise

A true and colorful account of how an orphaned bear and a unit of Polish soldiers—many of them also orphaned or missing family members—adopted one another. — Kirkus Reviews

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063064768
  • ISBN 10: 0063064766
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 10/04/2022
  • Pages: 48
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / History / Military & Wars
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Animals / Bears
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Family / Alternative Family

Brothers in Arms by Susan Hood

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.