The Digger and the Duckling

by Joseph Kuefler

On Sale: 02/15/2022

The Digger and the Duckling

by Joseph Kuefler

illustrated by Joseph Kuefler

On Sale: 02/15/2022

Format:

About the Book

From the acclaimed author-illustrator Joseph Kuefler comes a companion to his popular picture book The Digger and the Flower. Perfect for fans of Peter Brown’s The Curious Garden and Kadir Nelson’s If You Plant a Seed, as well as readers who love the machines in Sherri Duskey Rinker’s Construction Site series.

Digger and the other big trucks love to build.

But when a lost duckling waddles onto the jobsite, Digger and his friends learn to do more than just scoop and hoist and push . . . They learn to become a family.

Share this beautiful picture book as a great introduction to taking care of the environment.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

THE DIGGER AND THE FLOWER: “Kuefler imbues the text with the heart and soul of the best storytime fare… One couldn’t hope for a better tale of rebirth and regeneration” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Kuefler’s simply written and beautifully illustrated tale has a powerful message about the importance of the environment...A wonderful, inspiring tale, perfect for read-alouds.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“The image of the clunky piece of construction equipment tenderly caring for the fragile plant gives the story charm, and so do its strong, simple images.” - Publishers Weekly

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063062542
  • ISBN 10: 0063062542
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 02/15/2022
  • Pages: 48
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Nature & the Natural World / Environment

The Digger and the Duckling by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.