Being Mary Bennet

by J. C. Peterson

On Sale: 03/15/2022

Being Mary Bennet

Enlarge Book Cover

Being Mary Bennet

by J. C. Peterson

On Sale: 03/15/2022

Format:

About the Book

It is a truth universally acknowledged that every bookworm secretly wishes to be Lizzy Bennet from Pride and Prejudice.

A less acknowledged truth is that Mary Bennet might be a better fit.

For Marnie Barnes, realizing she’s a Mary Bennet is devastating. But she’s determined to reinvent herself, so she enlists the help of her bubbly roommate and opens up to the world. 

And between new friends, a very cute boy, and a rescue pup named Sir Pat, Marnie finds herself on a path to becoming a new person entirely. But she’s no Lizzy, or even Mary—instead, she’s someone even better: just plain Marnie.

With a hilariously sharp voice, a sweet and fulfilling romance that features a meet-cute in an animal shelter, and a big family that revels in causing big problems, this charming comedy of errors about a girl who resolves to become the main character of her own story (at any and all costs), is perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Becky Albertalli…and Jane Austen, of course.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Full of voice and charm, Being Mary Bennet is an exceptional debut that tackles coming of age with humor, care, and emotional depth. Peterson creates a cast of complex characters and relationships you’ll instantly adore and root for while also embracing their flaws and shortcomings. A delightful, memorable story.”  - Kelsey Rodkey, author of Last Chance Books

"A witty, creative retelling packed with charming characters and hilarious antics. Being Mary Bennet filled my Austen-loving heart with so much joy!"
- Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today, Tonight, Tomorrow

"Hilarious and heartfelt, this debut proves that everyone deserves to be the main character in their own story. Jane Austen fans, prepare to fall in love!"
- Kristy Boyce, author of Hot British Boyfriend

“The perfect novel for any reader who wishes they were a heroine but secretly identifies more with background characters… An utterly authentic, captivating story.” - Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063060135
  • ISBN 10: 0063060132
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 03/15/2022
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
  • BISAC5 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Books & Libraries
  • BISAC6 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Romantic Comedy

Being Mary Bennet by J. C. Peterson

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.