Unseen Magic

by Emily Lloyd-Jones

On Sale: 02/22/2022

Unseen Magic

Enlarge Book Cover

Unseen Magic

by Emily Lloyd-Jones

On Sale: 02/22/2022

Format:

About the Book

The trick to all magic is: you can only see it if you know where to look.

The magic-infused town of Aldermere is the first place eleven-year-old Fin has ever felt safe—and she’ll do whatever it takes to save her home when she accidentally unleashes a shadow self who wreaks havoc everywhere she goes. Emily Lloyd-Jones’s middle grade debut is an enchanting exploration of self-discovery and finding the place you truly belong. Unseen Magic is for fans of A Wish in the Dark and A Tangle of Knots

Aldermere is a town with its own set of rules: there’s a tea shop that vanishes if you try to force your way in, crows that must be fed or they’ll go through your trash, and a bridge that has a toll that no one knows the cost of. Some say that there may even be bigfoots wandering through the woods.

For Fin, Aldermere is her new home. But she’s worried that she’ll do something to mess it up—that she was the reason she and her mother have constantly moved from place to place for so long. When an upcoming presentation at her school’s science fair gives her increasing anxiety, Fin turns to magic to ease her fears. The cost is a memory, but there are things from her past Fin doesn’t mind forgetting. This will be the last time she relies on magic anyway, she's sure. 

Except things don’t go exactly as planned. And instead of easing her anxiety, Fin accidentally unleashes an evil doppelganger. Suddenly Aldermere is overrun with unusual occurrences—and Fin is the only one who knows why. She will have to face her fears—literally—to stop it.

Emily Lloyd-Jones crafts an atmospheric novel full of magic and mischief while exploring what it means to stand up to your fears and accept yourself. Unseen Magic will captivate readers of Anna Meriano’s Love, Sugar, Magic series and Natalie Lloyd’s A Snicker of Magic.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

Unseen Magic is an enchanting read! What a fun tale of a lovably oddball town, an unexpected villain, a few unexpected heroes, and a girl who’s braver than she knows. Oh—and a raven! And tea! All the kids who have ever wished to be a different person (and who hasn’t?) will want to devour this story.” - Margaret Peterson Haddix, bestselling author of The Greystone Secrets

“At turns gentle and mischievous, Unseen Magic cleverly reveals the hidden pockets of magic that shimmer in the world—and within ourselves. This is a story to adore—one that thoughtfully reflects on the fears we keep closest to our hearts, and embraces every precious piece that makes us who we are.” - Heather Kassner, author of The Plentiful Darkness

"In Aldermere, shops vanish, doors lead mysterious places, and a sip of magic tea can do anything, including give Finley the bravery she craves. Steeped in friendship, danger, and dark truth, Unseen Magic is a magical voyage of self-discovery." - Jenn Reese, author of A Game of Fox & Squirrels

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063057982
  • ISBN 10: 0063057980
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 02/22/2022
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emotions & Feelings
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance

Unseen Magic by Emily Lloyd-Jones

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.