Lunar Boy

by Jes and Cin Wibowo

On Sale: 05/14/2024

Lunar Boy

Enlarge Book Cover

Lunar Boy

by Jes and Cin Wibowo

illustrated by Jes and Cin Wibowo

On Sale: 05/14/2024

Format:

About the Book

For fans of The Witch Boy and Squished, Lunar Boy is a must-have heartwarming coming-of-age graphic novel about a young boy from the moon who discovers a home in the most unlikely places, from debut twin creators Jes and Cin Wibowo.

Indu, a boy from the moon, feels like he doesn’t belong. He hasn’t since he and his adoptive mom disembarked from their spaceship—their home—to live on Earth with their new blended family. The kids at school think he’s weird, he has a crush on his pen pal who might not like him back, and his stepfamily doesn’t seem to know what to do with him. Worst of all, Indu can’t even talk to his mom about how he’s feeling because she’s so busy.

In a moment of loneliness, Indu calls out to the moon, begging them to take him back. And against all odds, the moon hears him and agrees to bring him home on the first day of the New Year. But as the promised day draws nearer, Indu finds friendship in unlikely places and discovers that home is more than where you come from. And when the moon calls again, Indu must decide: Is he willing to give up what he’s just found?

Critical Praise

"A radiant palette of warm, sun-drenched pinks and oranges underscore the vibrant community of care and support that envelop Indu. Reminiscent of Le Petit Prince, this lustrous debut graphic novel signals a much brighter future for its protagonist and those who relate to him." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"This luminously illustrated graphic novel offers readers a lovely story of change, understanding, identity, and belonging. Stellar: both heartbreaking and heartwarming." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"[A] heartwarming story whose protagonist finds understanding with friends, family, and a broader community." — Horn Book Magazine

"A fresh, empathetic tale of a transmasculine moon-boy’s journey toward understanding one’s space and the space that’s sometimes necessary to give others. An expansive, organic palette with pastel pops of trans-flag pride, all with inclusive and friendly character design that leaves readers feeling dipped in sun/moonshine." — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"With gorgeous, imaginative, sci-fi art steeped in Indonesian culture, Lunar Boy is a must-have tale of belonging that reclaims the rich queer history of the pre-colonial past for the post-colonial future. This graphic novel made me feel so warm and hopeful." — Xiran Jay Zhao, author of New York Times bestselling Zachary Ying and the Dragon Emperor

"Lunar Boy is a salve for the yearning heart! A wonderfully vibrant and wholesome story of found family, and the importance of community." — Bre Indigo, co-author of Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy, The Dog Knight, and Northranger

"A beautiful tale of acceptance and finding where you belong even within the vastness of space! Perfect for young readers looking for a positive and uplifting story about identity and family." — Kay Davault, author of Misfit Mansion and Star Knights

"A poignant, heartfelt story about searching for understanding and community, Lunar Boy dazzles with beautiful color palettes, luxurious indigenous sci-fi futurism, and diverse characters from start to finish. Uplifting, heartbreaking, inspiring, and everything in between. A stellar debut." — Zachary Sterling, author of Mabuhay!

"A beautifully blended story that connects the importance of communication, respect, patience, and understanding." — Joanna Cacao, author of The Secret of the Ravens

"Lunar Boy is both tender and ethereal. With vibrant illustrations and an affirming queer narrative, Jes and Cin have created a rich world that will leave readers starry-eyed." — Elle Pierre, author of Evelyn and Avery: The Art of Friendship

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063057609
  • ISBN 10: 0063057603
  • Imprint: HarperAlley
  • On Sale: 05/14/2024
  • Pages: 240
  • List Price:31.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Fantasy
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / LGBT
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Adolescence
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Alternative Family

Lunar Boy by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.