Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves

by L. M. Elliott

On Sale: 03/22/2022

Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves

Enlarge Book Cover

Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves

by L. M. Elliott

On Sale: 03/22/2022

Format:

About the Book

In this moving and timeless story, award-winning author L. M. Elliott captures life on the U.S. homefront during World War II, weaving a rich portrait of a family reeling from loss and the chilling yet hopeful voyage of fighting for what matters, perfect for fans of The War That Saved My Life.

Days after Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor in 1941, Hitler declared war on the U.S., unleashing U-boat submarines to attack American ships. Suddenly, the waves outside Louisa June’s farm aren’t for eel-fishing or marveling at wild swans or learning to skull her family’s boat—they’re dangerous, swarming with hidden enemies.

Her oldest brothers’ ships risk coming face-to-face with U-boats. Her sister leaves home to weld Liberty Boat hulls. And then her daddy, a tugboat captain, and her dearest brother, Butler, are caught in the crossfire.

Her mama has always swum in a sea of melancholy, but now she really needs Louisa June to find moments of beauty or inspiration to buoy her. Like sunshine-yellow daffodils, good books, or news accounts of daring rescues of torpedoed passengers.

Determined to help her Mama and aching to combat Nazis herself, Louisa June turns to her quirky friend Emmett and the indomitable Cousin Belle, who has her own war stories—and a herd of cats—to share. In the end, after a perilous sail, Louisa June learns the greatest lifeline is love.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"From the very first page of Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves, you’ll know you’re in the hands of a skilled storyteller. Vividly and lyrically told, L.M. Elliott captures the drama and heartbreak of the U-boat attacks on the Eastern U.S. coast during WWII." - Elisa Carbone, author of Blood on the River: James Town 1607

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063056565
  • ISBN 10: 0063056569
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 03/22/2022
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / United States / 20th Century
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / Military & Wars

Louisa June and the Nazis in the Waves by L. M. Elliott

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.