The Comfort of Monsters

A Novel

by Willa C. Richards

On Sale: 07/13/2021

The Comfort of Monsters

Enlarge Book Cover

The Comfort of Monsters

A Novel

by Willa C. Richards

On Sale: 07/13/2021

Format:

About the Book

Set in Milwaukee during the “Dahmer summer” of 1991, A remarkable debut novel for fans of Mary Gaitskill and Gillian Flynn about two sisters—one who disappears, and one who is left to pick up the pieces in the aftermath.

In the summer of 1991, a teenage girl named Dee McBride vanished in the city of Milwaukee. Nearly thirty years later, her sister, Peg, is still haunted by her sister's disappearance. Their mother, on her deathbed, is desperate to find out what happened to Dee so the  family hires a psychic to help find Dee’s body and bring them some semblance of peace. 

The appearance of the psychic plunges Peg back to the past, to those final carefree months when she last saw Dee—the summer the Journal Sentinel called “the deadliest . . . in the history of Milwaukee.” Serial killer Jeffrey Dahmer’s heinous crimes dominated the headlines and overwhelmed local law enforcement. The disappearance of one girl was easily overlooked.

Peg’s hazy recollections are far from easy for her to interpret, assess, or even keep clear in her mind. And now digging deep into her memory raises doubts and difficult—even terrifying—questions. Was there anything Peg could have done to prevent Dee’s disappearance? Who was really to blame for the family's loss? How often are our memories altered by the very act of voicing them? And what does it mean to bear witness in a world where even our own stories are inherently suspect?

A heartbreaking page-turner, Willa C. Richards’ debut novel is the story of a broken family looking for answers in the face of the unknown, and asks us to reconsider the power and truth of memory.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"On its face, The Comfort of Monsters is a riveting page-turner that begs to be read quickly, compulsively. But page by page, this electrifying debut by Willa Richards weaves an increasingly complicated and dark tale of guilt, fury, and the danger of building stories on that shakiest of foundations, memory. Every sentence is a delight in this taut and thrilling debut by Willa Richards." - Elizabeth Wetmore, New York Times bestselling author of Valentine

"The Comfort of Monsters is shadowed by crime but cares more about consequence--it pairs the pulse-quickening pleasures of a murder mystery with a probing portrait of loss. Willa C. Richards's unflinching debut picks apart a tangled knot of violence, shame, secrecy, lust, and fearsome love. A dark, elegiac examination of sisterhood that's impossible to forget." - Robin Wasserman, author of Girls on Fire

"The Comfort of Monsters captivates with a cold case, and becomes an unflinching, unapologetic story of sexuality, victimhood, and the dangerous pull of memory. Richards exposes the underbelly of grief, shows the heartbeat shaking that thin skin, and leaves you, at novel’s end, holding something raw, fragile and essentially human. A remarkable debut." - Lydia Fitzpatrick, author of Lights All Night Long

“In her fiery debut novel, Willa Richards folds the electrifying zing of crime fiction into an exceptional study of character.  This book begs us to consider why we blame and otherize victims of violent crimes – especially when they come from society’s margins.  Potent, gritty, and deeply comprehending, The Comfort of Monsters is written with a clear eye and an aching heart.” - Amity Gaige, author of Sea Wife

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063053021
  • ISBN 10: 0063053020
  • Imprint: Harper
  • On Sale: 07/13/2021
  • Pages: 400
  • List Price:34.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Literary
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3 : FICTION / Family Life / Siblings

The Comfort of Monsters by Willa C. Richards

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.