Another Kind

by Trevor Bream, Cait May

On Sale: 10/26/2021

Another Kind

Enlarge Book Cover

Another Kind

by Trevor Bream, Cait May

illustrated by Cait May

On Sale: 10/26/2021

Format:

Nene Award (Hawaii)

About the Book

Six kids search for a new place to call home in this middle grade graphic novel debut by comic creators Cait May and Trevor Bream, for fans of Marvel’s Runaways and The Witch Boy by Molly Knox Ostertag. Another Kind is not your average monster story.

Tucked away in a government facility nicknamed the Playroom, six not-quite-human kids learn to control their strange and unpredictable abilities. Life is good—or safe, at least—hidden from the prying eyes of a judgmental world.

That is, until a security breach forces them out of their home and into the path of the Collector, a mysterious being with leech-like powers.

Can the group band together to thwart the Collector’s devious plan, or will they wind up the newest addition to his collection?


An ALSC Graphic Novel Reading List Title

Critical Praise

Thrilling and packed with heart; an X-Men tale for the younger set. — School Library Journal

May and Bream cast an enjoyably wide net in terms of irregularities, constructing relatable characters out of yetis, planet-invading aliens, fairylike will-o'-the-wisps, octopus tykes, and all manner of werecreatures. This makes for a huge world filled with wonder and a fine introduction to social (and pronoun) differences for young readers. May paints this world with intense detail, an expansive emotional palette of expressive faces, and inky blots of living darkness when rapacious evil rears its foul head. — Booklist

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063043534
  • ISBN 10: 006304353X
  • Imprint: HarperAlley
  • On Sale: 10/26/2021
  • Pages: 288
  • List Price:19.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Monsters
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Fairy Tales, Folklore, Legends & Mythology
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Action & Adventure

Another Kind by Trevor Bream, Cait May, Cait May

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.