Never Forget Eleanor

by Jason June

On Sale: 02/14/2023

Never Forget Eleanor

by Jason June

illustrated by Loren Long

On Sale: 02/14/2023

Format:

Bank Street Children’s Best Books of the Year

About the Book

This poignant story from New York Times bestselling author Jason June and #1 New York Times bestselling illustrator Loren Long reminds us of the life-changing power of words and the ways we remember the ones we love who've been affected by Alzheimer's or dementia. Perfect for fans of Drawn Together and The Rough Patch

Elijah loves spending time with his grandma Eleanor. She knows all the best words to answer tricky crossword puzzles and to tell the most beautiful stories to her family and friends.

Everyone calls her “Never Forget Eleanor” because she remembers every word she reads and person she meets. Lately though, Elijah has started to notice Grandma Eleanor forgetting little things.

So when Grandma Eleanor doesn’t show up for her Saturday story session, Elijah will need to find a way to use her favorite words and become the storyteller himself to bring her home.

Critical Praise

"This day-to-day celebration of a loving relationship brings both characters vividly to life. Long's tender gouache-and-colored pencil illustrations carry the story. . . the expressive features are endearing. From Elijah shyly peeking out from behind a newspaper to Grandma's heart-rending puzzled reactions, the images evoke honest emotions. . . A tender tribute to the heart." — Kirkus Reviews

"Calm, measured text from June (the Mermicorn Island series) offers compassion and holds space for the protagonist's grief, while velvety textured gouache and colored pencil vignettes by Long (Someone Builds the Dream) depict a small, animal-populated town where doe-eyed Eleanor is valued and supported by everyone from her family to the local rhino chef and tiger barber. There's a quiet sincerity at work throughout, and readers should find that it encircles them as well." — Publishers Weekly

This sweet and sensitive story will hold particular resonance for children and families with elderly relatives in their lives.
School Library Journal

The author notes that memory loss can affect people in different ways but that reminders such as these are helpful to some. The gouache-and-colored-pencil illustrations are gently serious, not too lighthearted but appropriate to the audience by not being too sad or scary, either. Eventually Grandma Eleanor passes away, though Elijah carries on her tradition by telling her special stories himself. — Booklist

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063039629
  • ISBN 10: 0063039621
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 02/14/2023
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Concepts / Words
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Elephants
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Health & Daily Living / Diseases, Illnesses & Injuries

Never Forget Eleanor by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.