The Puttermans Are in the House

by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

On Sale: 01/17/2023

The Puttermans Are in the House

Enlarge Book Cover

The Puttermans Are in the House

by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

On Sale: 01/17/2023

Format:

About the Book

A heartfelt and hopeful middle grade novel from Jacquetta Nammar Feldman, author of the Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection Wishing Upon the Same Stars, about family, joy, and growing up in the aftermath of a natural disaster. Perfect for fans of Nic Stone’s Fast Pitch and Erin Entrada Kelly’s We Dream of Space.

Seventh graders Sammy and Matty are the Putterman twins—the perfect team of two. But Matty has a secret he’s not ready to share with his family yet, and he suddenly quits baseball and stops talking to his sister. With their twin telepathy broken, Sammy doesn’t know what to do without her teammate.

Becky Putterman is sick of her family only cheering for her cousins, Sammy and Matty. They all used to be friends, but since everything became about the twins, Becky’s felt left out. With her bat mitzvah around the corner, she hopes it’ll finally be her turn in the spotlight.

But then Hurricane Harvey hits Houston, Texas, and the twins’ house is damaged in the flood. Their family moves in with Becky’s—which no one is happy about. As their grief, anger, and uncertainty grow, they’ll soon find they need each other now more than ever before. With all nine Puttermans under one roof, can Sammy, Matty, and Becky find a way to glue their family back together?

Critical Praise

Feldman discerningly highlights one family’s struggles navigating loss and learning to accept one another in this uplifting tale. — Publishers Weekly

A heartfelt home run for hope and healing, THE PUTTERMANS ARE IN THE HOUSE is a dynamic story that proves when families come together, they can truly weather any storm. Readers will be cheering in the stands for twins Sammy and Matty and their cousin Becky as they navigate first crushes, changing relationships, and a hurricane. Jacquetta Nammar Feldman's sophomore novel is out-of-this-park good. — Michael Leali, author of The Civil War of Amos Abernathy

A sad and sweet novel that takes a hurricane and turns it on its head: instead of leaving only destruction, this one becomes the crucible for restoration, when all the members of one family are forced to live together to survive the effects of Houston's Hurricane Harvey. Faced with past resentments, present insecurities, and future disappointments, these characters come together by helping each other find what they most truly love—and the surprising wholeness that results is a story worth telling — Gary D. Schmidt, bestselling author of National Book Award finalist Okay for Now and the Newbery Honor Books Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy and The Wednesday Wars

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063034433
  • ISBN 10: 0063034433
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 01/17/2023
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Multigenerational
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Emigration & Immigration
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Bullying

The Puttermans Are in the House by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.