Wishing Upon the Same Stars

by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

On Sale: 02/01/2022

Wishing Upon the Same Stars

Enlarge Book Cover

Wishing Upon the Same Stars

by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

On Sale: 02/01/2022

Format:

CYBILS Awards

About the Book

This powerful and poignant coming-of-age middle grade debut novel follows an Arab American girl named Yasmeen as she moves to San Antonio with her family and navigates finding friendship—and herself. Perfect for fans of Other Words for Home, Front Desk, and American as Paneer Pie.

When twelve-year-old Yasmeen Khoury moves with her family to San Antonio, all she wants to do is fit in. But her classmates in Texas are nothing like her friends in the predominantly Arab neighborhood back in Detroit where she grew up. Almost immediately, Yasmeen feels like the odd girl out, and as she faces middle school mean girls and tries to make new friends, she feels more alone than ever before.

Then Yasmeen meets her neighbor, Ayelet Cohen, a first-generation Israeli American. As the two girls grow closer, Yasmeen is grateful to know someone who understands what it feels like when your parents’ idea of home is half a world away.

But when Yasmeen’s grandmother moves in after her home in Jerusalem is destroyed, Yasmeen and Ayelet must grapple with how much closer the events of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict are than they’d realized. As Yasmeen begins to develop her own understandings of home, heritage, and most importantly, herself, can the two girls learn there’s more that brings them together than might tear them apart . . . and that peace begins with them?

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD GOLD STANDARD SELECTION!

Critical Praise

This absorbing story compassionately tackles challenging subjects: the immigrant experience, explicit racism, family strife, and the enormity of Palestinian Israeli history. Feldman offers an ultimately optimistic message of hope and a chance for peace in ways both big and small. — Booklist

Many readers will see themselves in Feldman’s debut novel. This valuable title explores an issue rarely discussed in contemporary children’s literature. Highly recommended for middle grade collections. — School Library Journal

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063034389
  • ISBN 10: 0063034387
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 02/01/2022
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / Middle East
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION: People & Places / United States / Middle Eastern & Arab American
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / Middle East

Wishing Upon the Same Stars by Jacquetta Nammar Feldman

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.