Wind Riders #1: Rescue on Turtle Beach

by Jen Marlin

On Sale: 10/19/2021

Wind Riders #1: Rescue on Turtle Beach

Enlarge Book Cover

Wind Riders #1: Rescue on Turtle Beach

by Jen Marlin

illustrated by Izzy Burton

On Sale: 10/19/2021

Format:

Nutmeg Children’s Book Award (Connecticut)

About the Book

Hop aboard Wind Rider, a magical sailboat, with Max and Sofia, two kids trying to save the environment one problem at a time. Their first mission? Rescuing baby sea turtles in the beautiful waters of Hawaii.

Max and Sofia are ordinary kids whose lives are changed when they discover an abandoned sailboat. They’re given the chance to make a real impact when the boat magically brings them them to a different corner of the world to help other kids save their environment!

Wind Riders: Rescue on Turtle Beach is the first book in an illustrated chapter book series about Max and Sofia’s adventures tackling real world problems. Each story visits a new location and introduces a human-made problem endangering animals and the environment.

With nature’s highest stakes and environmental activism baked into each book, as well as fun scientific facts included at the end, Wind Riders promises to be the chapter book series for newly independent readers who love nature documentaries and are hungry to learn about the world around them.

There is beautiful two-color art throughout and an emphasis on collaborative problem-solving, compassion for the Earth and all its inhabitants, and friendship. Wind Riders is the perfect STEM chapter book series for fans of Magic Tree House, The Magic School Bus, and Zoey and Sassafras.

Critical Praise

"Learn about present-day environmental threats to wildlife in fast-paced, entertaining adventures. Engaging, positive, and informative—perfect for newly minted chapter-book readers." — Kirkus Reviews

“A new young reader chapter book series that promises to focus on manmade environmental issues. It features illustrations on almost every page and a simple, easy-to-follow story...Readers will learn scientific facts in a way that is informative but not didactic...This fun, imaginative series is similar to “The Magic Treehouse”. — School Library Journal

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063029248
  • ISBN 10: 0063029243
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 10/19/2021
  • Pages: 128
  • List Price:8.50 CAD
  • Ages: 6 to 10
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Readers / Chapter Books
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Nature & the Natural World / Environment

Wind Riders #1: Rescue on Turtle Beach by Jen Marlin

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.