Little Matches

A Memoir of Grief and Light

by Maryanne O'Hara

On Sale: 04/20/2021

Little Matches

Enlarge Book Cover

Little Matches

A Memoir of Grief and Light

by Maryanne O'Hara

On Sale: 04/20/2021

Format:

About the Book

In the vein of A Year of Magical Thinking and Beautiful Boy, an emotionally raw and inspiring memoir that illuminates a mother’s grief over the loss of her adult child and considers the hope of soulful connections that transcend the boundary of life and death.

When their only child was diagnosed with cystic fibrosis (CF) at the age of two, Maryanne O’Hara and her husband were told that Caitlin could live a long life or be dead in a matter of months. Thirty-one years later, Caitlin lost her battle with this devastating disease following an excruciating two-year wait on the transplant list and a last-minute race to locate a pair of healthy lungs. 

The sudden spiral of events left Maryanne in an existential crisis, searching to find an answer to the eternal question: Why we are here? During her final years, Caitlin had become a source of wisdom and comfort for her mother—the partner with whom she shared a deep spiritual quest to understand what it meant to have a soul. After Caitlin’s passing, Maryanne began to notice signs—poignant, persistent synchronicities that seemed to lean toward proof of Caitlin’s enduring presence.

Weaving together a series of interconnected meditations with illuminating glimpses of life rendered via text messages, e-mails, and journal entries, Little Matches is a profound reflection on life and death, motherhood, the pain of chronic uncertainty, and finding inspiration in the unexpected sparks that light our way through the darkness.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063027763
  • ISBN 10: 0063027763
  • Imprint: HarperOne
  • On Sale: 04/20/2021
  • Pages: 320
  • List Price:33.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY / Medical
  • BISAC2 : SELF-HELP / Death, Grief, Bereavement
  • BISAC3 : RELIGION / Spirituality

Little Matches by Maryanne O'Hara

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.