Many Points of Me

by Caroline Gertler

On Sale: 01/12/2021

Many Points of Me

Enlarge Book Cover

Many Points of Me

by Caroline Gertler

On Sale: 01/12/2021

Format:

About the Book

When Georgia finds a secret sketch her late father—a famed artist—left behind, the discovery leads her down a path that may reshape everything holding her family and friends together. Caroline Gertler’s debut is a story about friendship, family, grief, and creativity. Fans of Rebecca Stead’s Goodbye Stranger, Dan Gemeinhart’s The Remarkable Journey of Coyote Sunrise, and E. L. Konigsburg’s From the Mixed-up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler will find a new friend in Georgia.

Georgia Rosenbloom’s father was a famous artist. His most well-known paintings were a series of asterisms—patterns of stars—that he created. One represented a bird, one himself, and one Georgia’s mother. There was supposed to be a fourth asterism, but Georgia’s father died before he could paint it. Georgia’s mother and her best friend, Theo, are certain that the last asterism would’ve been of Georgia, but Georgia isn’t so sure. She isn’t sure about anything anymore—including whether Theo is still her best friend.

Then Georgia finds a sketch her father made of her. One with pencil points marked on the back—just like those in the asterism paintings. Could this finally be the proof that the last painting would have been of her?

Georgia’s quest to prove her theory takes her around her Upper West Side neighborhood in New York City and to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, which was almost a second home to Georgia, having visited favorite artists and paintings there constantly with her father. But the sketch leads right back to where she’s always belonged—with the people who love her no matter what.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"Sensitive and thoughtful—a story about loss, friendship, and the beauty of self-discovery." - —Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me

“It’s been two years since Georgia’s dad passed away, and her life still feels far from normal. . . . . Gertler’s debut . . . blends art history and artistic expression with Georgia’s soul-searching and personal growth. . . . Satisfying.” - Booklist

“After her father’s death, an 11-year-old girl struggles to find her true self. . . . Georgia’s genuine, first-person narration exposes her loss, jealousy, guilt, and gradual realization that ‘all the different parts of me have been put back together in a new way.’ . . . A realistic, poignant exploration of loss, friendship, and self-discovery.” - Kirkus Reviews

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063027008
  • ISBN 10: 0063027003
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 01/12/2021
  • Pages: 352
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Art & Architecture
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying

Many Points of Me by Caroline Gertler

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.