Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

by Joya Goffney

On Sale: 05/03/2022

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

Enlarge Book Cover

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

by Joya Goffney

On Sale: 05/03/2022

Format:

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults

About the Book

Joya Goffney, author of the acclaimed Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry, delivers a powerful second novel about a preacher’s daughter in small-town Texas and her journey toward loving herself and her body, filled with heart, humor, family drama, and a dynamic love triangle. Perfect for fans of Not So Pure and Simple by Lamar Giles and Calling My Name by Liara Tamani!

“Powerful, boundary pushing, and charmingly funny.” —Camryn Garrett, author of Full Disclosure and Off the Record

"Deeply empowering, sweet yet candid. A fearless story about the path to self acceptance.” –Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan, authors of Unpregnant and Save Steve

Monique is a preacher’s daughter who detests the impossible rules of her religion. Everyone expects her to wait until marriage, so she has no one to turn to when she discovers that she physically can’t have sex.

After two years of trying and failing, her boyfriend breaks up with her. To win him back, Monique teams up with straight-laced church girl Sasha—who is surprisingly knowledgeable about Monique’s condition—as well as Reggie, the misunderstood bad boy who always makes a ruckus at church, and together they embark upon a top-secret search for the cure.

While on their quest, Monique discovers the value of a true friend and the wonders of a love that accepts her for who she is. Despite everyone’s opinions about her virtue, she learns to live for herself, inspiring us all to reclaim our bodies and unapologetically love ourselves.

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults 2022 List Nominee

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"Powerfully sex-positive, boundary pushing, and charmingly funny, Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl is a story that touches topics all too often shoved under the rug, especially for Black girls."  - Camryn Garrett, author of Full Disclosure and Off the Record 

"Deeply empowering. Sweet yet candid. Ms. Goffney's fearless story about the path to self acceptance and the unexpected people who help on the journey is the perfect antidote to purity culture. A necessary tale that reads like a secret that everyone should hear about." - Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan, authors of Unpregnant and Save Steve

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063024847
  • ISBN 10: 0063024845
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 05/03/2022
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / School & Education / Boarding School & Prep School
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl by Joya Goffney

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.