Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

by Joya Goffney

On Sale: 05/03/2022

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

Enlarge Book Cover

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl

by Joya Goffney

On Sale: 05/03/2022

Format:

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults

About the Book

Joya Goffney, author of the acclaimed Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry, delivers a powerful second novel about a preacher’s daughter in small-town Texas and her journey toward loving herself and her body, filled with heart, humor, family drama, and a dynamic love triangle. Perfect for fans of Not So Pure and Simple by Lamar Giles and Calling My Name by Liara Tamani!

“Powerful, boundary pushing, and charmingly funny.” —Camryn Garrett, author of Full Disclosure and Off the Record

"Deeply empowering, sweet yet candid. A fearless story about the path to self acceptance.” —Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan, authors of Unpregnant and Save Steve

“A heartfelt, funny, and irresistible read…smart, sex-positive, and positively terrific.” —Kirkus (starred review)

“A compassionate novel that encourages teens to prioritize the control, safety, and comfort of their own bodies.” –Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Monique is a preacher’s daughter who detests the impossible rules of her religion. Everyone expects her to wait until marriage, so she has no one to turn to when she discovers that she physically can’t have sex.

After two years of trying and failing, her boyfriend breaks up with her. To win him back, Monique teams up with straight-laced church girl Sasha—who is surprisingly knowledgeable about Monique’s condition—as well as Reggie, the misunderstood bad boy who always makes a ruckus at church, and together they embark upon a top-secret search for the cure.

While on their quest, Monique discovers the value of a true friend and the wonders of a love that accepts her for who she is. Despite everyone’s opinions about her virtue, she learns to live for herself, inspiring us all to reclaim our bodies and unapologetically love ourselves.

YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults 2022 List Nominee

“A triumph in not just dynamite contemporary fiction but also in critiquing purity culture and the harm it can do.” —Buzzfeed

“[Monique's] journey toward recognizing her own value is hard-won, and her awareness of her own worth, when it comes, feels like a true victory. An empowering read.” —Booklist

Critical Praise

"Powerfully sex-positive, boundary pushing, and charmingly funny, Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl is a story that touches topics all too often shoved under the rug, especially for Black girls."  — Camryn Garrett, author of Full Disclosure and Off the Record 

"Deeply empowering. Sweet yet candid. Ms. Goffney's fearless story about the path to self acceptance and the unexpected people who help on the journey is the perfect antidote to purity culture. A necessary tale that reads like a secret that everyone should hear about." — Jenni Hendriks and Ted Caplan, authors of Unpregnant and Save Steve

“Thanks to Goffney’s superb storytelling and dazzling prose, this candid exploration of a sensitive subject is also a heartfelt, funny, and irresistible read. Smart, sex-positive—and positively terrific." — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Goffney’s (Excuse Me While I Ugly Cry) sincere novel underscores conversations around sexual autonomy, purity culture, and internalized shame with earnestness and humor…Safe spaces composed predominantly of Black women, discussions regarding sexual health education’s importance, and tender, healthy depictions of romance that exhibit respect for personal boundaries populate this sex-positive read, a compassionate novel that encourages teens to prioritize the control, safety, and comfort of their own bodies.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Goffney infuses her narrative with humor and Black culture and beautifully expands on Monique's relationships with her family. Her journey toward recognizing her own value is hard-won, and her awareness of her own worth, when it comes, feels like a true victory. An empowering read for teens.” — Booklist

“A triumph in not just dynamite contemporary fiction but also in critiquing purity culture and the harm it can do.” — Buzzfeed

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063024847
  • ISBN 10: 0063024845
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 05/03/2022
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / School & Education / Boarding School & Prep School
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Dating & Sex

Confessions of an Alleged Good Girl by Joya Goffney

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.