Jay's Gay Agenda

by Jason June

On Sale: 06/01/2021

Jay's Gay Agenda

Enlarge Book Cover

Jay's Gay Agenda

by Jason June

On Sale: 06/01/2021

Format:

About the Book

From debut novelist Jason June comes a moving and hilarious sex-positive teen rom-com about the complexities of first loves, first hookups, and first heartbreaks—and how to stay true to yourself while embracing what you never saw coming, that’s perfect for fans of Sandhya Menon and Becky Albertalli. 

There’s one thing Jay Collier knows for sure—he’s a statistical anomaly as the only out gay kid in his small rural Washington town. While all his friends can’t stop talking about their heterosexual hookups and relationships, Jay can only dream of his own firsts, compiling a romance to-do list of all the things he hopes to one day experience—his Gay Agenda.

Then, against all odds, Jay’s family moves to Seattle and he starts his senior year at a new high school with a thriving LGBTQIA+ community. For the first time ever, Jay feels like he’s found where he truly belongs. But as Jay begins crossing items off his list, he’ll soon be torn between his heart and his hormones, his old friends and his new ones . . . because after all, life and love don’t always go according to plan. 

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Jason June, please feel free to check “conquering my heart” off your agenda, because I’m so in love with this book, it’s ridiculous. Jay’s Gay Agenda is funny, sincerely romantic, and infused with love from start to finish, starring a vividly drawn cast of characters who don’t even try to play it cool. I’m beyond charmed.” - Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

"Brave, hopeful, and absolutely packed with joy, Jay’s Gay Agenda crosses every item off my list. I can't wait for readers to fall in love with this powerful and heartwarming coming of age story." - Phil Stamper, bestselling author of The Gravity of Us and As Far As You'll Take Me

“Fantastically hilarious and profoundly sincere, Jay’s Gay Agenda is a can’t-miss debut. Jason June pens a flawless letter to queer teens, a reminder that they are worthy of messy friendships, clumsy firsts, complicated feelings, and cinematic happy endings like anyone else. This book sparkles from start to finish.”  - Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions

"Jay's journey to finding their place in the world warmed my small-town heart."  - Mason Deaver, award-winning author of The Ghosts We Keep and I Wish You All the Best

"Jay’s Gay Agenda is the charming, funny, sex positive book I wish I had read growing up. Jason June does an incredible job of exploring messy teen relationships through Jay, a charming and deeply flawed protagonist. Painfully relatable and laugh-out-loud funny, Jay’s Gay Agenda is the teen romcom of your dreams."  - Aiden Thomas, author of the New York Times bestseller Cemetery Boys

"Jay's Gay Agenda is exactly the kind of funny, upbeat, queer coming of age story readers crave. Full of laughs, heartbreak, fun, and tenderness, this story is an ode to first loves, friendships, and learning to embrace yourself exactly as you are because as Jay comes to understand, who you are is exactly enough." - Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella Is Dead

"Jay's Gay Agenda is the literal definition of a romp: It's funny, sexy, sweet and swoony in all the best ways and somehow still manages to capture the delicious, disastrous and overwhelming chaos and delight of suddenly getting caught up in a world of possibilities when there were none before. Honest and hilarious, this book should be on everyone's to-read list." - L.C. Rosen, author of Camp and Jack of Hearts (and other parts)

Jay's Gay Agenda is a delightful and emotional exploration of what it means to focus so much on checking things off a list that you forget yourself along the way. Every character is complicated, messy, and loveable, and it should be on EVERYONE'S agenda to grab a copy of this wonderful book!” - Ronni Davis, author of When the Stars Lead to You

"What an absolute delight of a debut! Relatable, hilarious, messy, earnest, and heartfelt, just the way the best coming of age stories are. Jay's Gay Agenda tackles friendship, first love, and ~feelings~ so masterfully that readers will come back to read it time and time again." - Emma Lord, author of Tweet Cute

"The story will amuse readers who are looking for a light read . . . Queer, fluffy fun." 

- Kirkus Reviews

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063015159
  • ISBN 10: 0063015153
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 06/01/2021
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / LGBT
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

Jay's Gay Agenda by Jason June

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.