If You, Then Me

by Yvonne Woon

On Sale: 07/06/2021

If You, Then Me

Enlarge Book Cover

If You, Then Me

by Yvonne Woon

On Sale: 07/06/2021

Format:

About the Book

Warm and funny, this coming-of-age #ownvoices romcom from teen author Yvonne Woon is set in Silicon Valley and delves into the questions we all ask when making mistakes—in life and in love—perfect for fans of Emergency Contact and When Dimple Met Rishi.

What would you ask your future self? First question: What does it feel like to kiss someone?

Xia is stuck in a lonely, boring loop. Her only escapes are Wiser, an artificial intelligence app she designed to answer questions as her future self, and a mysterious online crush she knows only as ObjectPermanence.

Until one day Xia enrolls at the Foundry, an app incubator for tech prodigies in Silicon Valley, and suddenly anything is possible. Flirting with Mast, a classmate also working on AI, leads to a date. Speaking up generates a vindictive nemesis intent on publicly humiliating her. And running into Mitzy Erst, Foundry alumna and Xia’s idol, could give Xia all the answers.

And then Xia receives a shocking message from ObjectPermanence. He is at the Foundry, too. Xia is torn between Mast and ObjectPermanence—just as Mitzy pushes her towards a shiny new future. Xia doesn’t have to ask Wiser to know: The right choice could transform her into the future self of her dreams, but the wrong one could destroy her.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“A romantic mystery bound up with a thrilling peek behind the curtain at the dark workings of the social media and tech world. An electrifying page-turner." - Maureen Johnson, bestselling author of 13 Little Blue Envelopes and the Truly Devious series

"IF YOU, THEN ME unfolds with an unexpected urgency, immersing readers in the fast-paced, glittering tech scene of Southern California. Yvonne Woon perfectly captures this morally murky world built for the privileged and the male, and shows readers how difficult it can be for a young woman to find her place. The mystery of her secret penpal will keep readers guessing from the start, and the romance is full of quips, tacos, and kisses on sandy beaches. I couldn't put it down!" - Rachel Carter, author of the So Close to You series

"Yvonne Woon's If You, Then Me is unquestionably one of the very best YA books I've ever read. This book gives readers a peek into the fascinating, often impenetrable social landscape of Silicon Valley, and delivers a delicious villain, hilarious dialogue, and a realistic look into why women tear each other down in a white, male-dominated industry. I wanted this book to go on forever, so I could follow Xia and Wiser on their next adventure." - Lindsay Sproul, author of We Were Promised Spotlights

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063008649
  • ISBN 10: 0063008645
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 07/06/2021
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Romantic Comedy
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Computers & Digital Media
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age

If You, Then Me by Yvonne Woon

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.