Northranger

by Rey Terciero

On Sale: 06/06/2023

Northranger

Enlarge Book Cover

Northranger

by Rey Terciero

illustrated by Bre Indigo

On Sale: 06/06/2023

Format:

Harvey Award

About the Book

In this swoony and spooky teen summer romance graphic novel set on a Texas ranch, sixteen-year-old Cade Muñoz finds himself falling for the ranch owner’s mysterious and handsome son, only to discover that he may be harboring a dangerous secret.

Cade has always loved to escape into the world of a good horror movie. After all, horror movies are scary—but to Cade, a closeted queer Latino teen growing up in rural Texas—real life can be way scarier.

When Cade is sent to spend the summer working as a ranch hand to help earn extra money for his family, he is horrified. Cade hates everything about the ranch, from the early mornings to the mountains of horse poop he has to clean up. The only silver lining is the company of the two teens who live there—in particular, the ruggedly handsome and enigmatic Henry.

But as unexpected sparks begin to fly between Cade and Henry, things get…complicated. Henry is reluctant to share the details of his mother’s death, and Cade begins to wonder what else he might be hiding. Inspired by the gothic romance of Jane Austen’s Northanger Abbey and perfect for fans of Heartstopper and Bloom comes a modern love story so romantic it’s scary.

Critical Praise

Greyscale, clean lines, and distinct framing are evocative of a Hitchcock film and allow the character moments to really shine. Northranger retains Austen’s spirit with an insightful love story. — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

Readers be warned: only pick up this book if there is time to finish it in one sitting. — Shelf Awareness (starred review)

An emotional coming-of-age romance that is darkly and dramatically imagined. — Kirkus Reviews

Indigo’s limited color palette and expressive character design imbue the narrative with a warmth and sincerity that skillfully complement the themes addressed. Terciero handles instances of homophobia and prejudice, contextualized by an opening content warning, with forthright realism, imbuing this lightly speculative read with intense emotionality. — Publishers Weekly

This delivers a contemporary retelling of a classic story to a new generation of teen readers. Terciero artfully utilizes the horror genre as a metaphor for the young queer experience in modern-day Texas. Indigo’s maroon monochromatic artwork throughout matches Terciero’s tone, evoking a satirically ominous feel. Perfect for teens searching for acceptance—or a cowboy or two.  — Booklist

A heartfelt romance that captures the experience of growing up queer in ¬rural America, this is recommended for all ¬graphic novel collections. — School Library Journal

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780063007390
  • ISBN 10: 0063007398
  • Imprint: HarperAlley
  • On Sale: 06/06/2023
  • Pages: 240
  • List Price:33.50 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / LGBT
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Coming of Age
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Horror

Northranger by Rey Terciero

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.