The Truth Hurts

A Novel

by Rebecca Reid

On Sale: 07/28/2020

The Truth Hurts

Enlarge Book Cover

The Truth Hurts

A Novel

by Rebecca Reid

On Sale: 07/28/2020

Format:

About the Book

In this twisty, compelling thriller, a young woman quickly embarks on what she thinks is the relationship and love of a lifetime, and she’s thrilled when her new husband insists they follow one rule: they don’t talk about the past, but it’s a rule that has dangerous consequences—perfect for fans of A Simple Favor and The Kiss Quotient.  

Is her new husband hiding something? 

Caught up in a whirlwind romance that starts in sunny Ibiza and leads to the cool corridors of a luxurious English country estate, Poppy barely has time to catch her breath, let alone seriously question if all this is too good to be true. Drew is enamored, devoted, and, okay, a little mysterious—but that's part of the thrill. What's the harm in letting his past remain private? 

Maybe he's not the only one… 

Fortunately, Drew never seems to wonder why his young wife has so readily agreed to their unusual pact to live only in the here and now and not probe their personal histories. Perhaps he assumes, as others do, that she is simply swept up in the intoxication of infatuation and sudden wealth. What's the harm in letting them believe that? 

How far will they go to keep the past buried? 

Isolated in Drew's sprawling mansion, Poppy starts to have time to doubt the man she's married, to wonder what in his past might be so terrible that it can't be spoken of, to imagine what harm he might be capable of. She doesn't want this dream to shatter. But Poppy may soon be forced to confront the dark truth that there are sins far more dangerous than the sin of omission…

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

"This gripping page-turner asks the reader: What is more dangerous – a secret or a lie? This propulsive read had me at chapter one and kept me turning the pages long after lights out.” - Lisa Barr, award-winning author of The Unbreakables

“A sly, slow-burn thriller that builds tension higher through each subtle scene. Reid teases the reader with each subversive reveal, placing the truth on the table in the last explosive pages. A fine addition to the growing catalog of surprising, deftly written psychological suspense, for those readers who can’t get enough.” - Booklist

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062997586
  • ISBN 10: 0062997580
  • Imprint: Harper Perennial
  • On Sale: 07/28/2020
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.00 CAD
  • BISAC1 : FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense
  • BISAC2 : FICTION / Thrillers / Psychological
  • BISAC3 : Undefined Category

The Truth Hurts by Rebecca Reid

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.