When Wishes Were Horses

by Cynthia Voigt

On Sale: 08/13/2024

When Wishes Were Horses

Enlarge Book Cover

When Wishes Were Horses

by Cynthia Voigt

On Sale: 08/13/2024

Format:

About the Book

What would you wish for? In this young middle-grade novel by the Newbery Medal– and Newbery Honor–winning author, four kids in the same town are each granted two wishes. Full of magic, adventure, friendship, family, surprises, and lots of dogs, this is for readers who love Katherine Applegate and Sara Pennypacker.

How do such things happen? Something appears, sudden as disaster. It wasn’t there and now it is. An envelope arrives, in your mailbox, on your dinner table, your dresser, your computer keyboard. It’s in your hand. You are alone when it finds you. No one else sees it, to ask about it or take it from you. There is only your name on the envelope. Inside, two pieces of pale gray tissue paper, each the size of a playing card, and simple instructions:

ONE WISH AT A TIME

WHISPER IT TO ME

BE WISE

Magic? Impossible. But what if . . . ?

Casey, Zoe, Billy, and Bug live in the same town. They don’t know one another . . . yet. But mysteriously, they are connected by magic. Specifically, they’ve each been given two wishes. What would you wish for? Casey yearns for a dog. Zoe wants her parents to stop fighting. Billy has always wanted a unicorn. Bug would love a Lego kit, a really complicated one. And do their wishes come true? The answer may surprise you.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062996923
  • ISBN 10: 0062996924
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 08/13/2024
  • Pages: 224
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Dogs
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / New Experience
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / General

When Wishes Were Horses by Cynthia Voigt

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.