A Disaster in Three Acts

by Kelsey Rodkey

On Sale: 07/05/2022

A Disaster in Three Acts

Enlarge Book Cover

A Disaster in Three Acts

by Kelsey Rodkey

On Sale: 07/05/2022

Format:

About the Book

Fans of Elise Bryant and Rachel Lynn Solomon will swoon for Last Chance Books author Kelsey Rodkey’s next romance, packed with snark, banter, and inconvenient crushes.

Saine Sinclair knows a little something about what makes a story worth telling.

Your childhood best friend refuses to kiss you during a pre-adolescent game of spin the bottle? Terrible, zero stars, would not replay that scene again. The same ex-friend becomes your new best friend’s ex? Strangely compelling, unexpected twist, worth a hate-watch. That same guy—why is he always around?—turns out to be your last shot at getting into the documentary filmmaking program of your dreams?

Saine hates to admit it, but she’d watch that movie.

There’s something about Holden that makes her feel like she’s the one in front of the camera—like he can see every uncomfortable truth she’s buried below the surface. Saine knows how her story’s supposed to go. So why does every moment with Holden seem intent on changing the ending?


Critical Praise

"A Disaster in Three Acts is every bit as charming as its title. With a great cast of characters, Kelsey Rodkey has crafted a story that is heartfelt, fun, and dizzyingly romantic, perfectly blending moments that will bring you to tears and double over with laughter." — Rachael Lippincott, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart

"It's rare that a YA novel so effortlessly transports me back to high school, and A Disaster in Three Acts did it instantly. A perfect balance of humor and heartbreak, filled with crackling romantic tension, vividly drawn characters, and a tender emotional core. This is a book bursting with love." — Rachel Lynn Solomon, New York Times bestselling author of See You Yesterday

"Rodkey explores the messiness of feelings—including growing pains and miscommunication—through flawed characters who don’t always take the easy road... A rom-com that deftly hits many emotional beats." — Kirkus Reviews

“Full of addictive banter, achingly real characters fumbling and faking their way towards self-acceptance, and a thoroughly satisfying slow burn romance that delivers all the feels. An absolute delight that will linger long after the last page.” — Monica Gomez-Hira, author of Once Upon a Quinceañera

“Kelsey Rodkey’s signature wit shines in this hilarious and heartfelt YA romcom. Readers will fall in love with Saine as she navigates her growing feelings for her ex-friend turned friend’s ex, and the often complicated ways we figure ourselves out by letting others in.” — Sonia Hartl, author of Have a Little Faith in Me and The Lost Girls

Praise for Last Chance Books: "Packed with smart humor and sparkling prose, Last Chance Books strikes both the funny bone and the heartstrings. You’ll root for Madeline as old and new relationships thwart her fight to save her family’s bookstore. A delightful read." — Laura Taylor Namey, New York Times bestselling author of A Cuban Girl’s Guide to Tea and Tomorrow

“A charming, hilarious debut that pays tribute to You’ve Got Mail while feeling uniquely modern. Kelsey Rodkey’s banter is what romcom dreams are made of, and Madeline and Jasper are so perfectly matched that I nearly perished while waiting for them to kiss. (And oh, they do.) An instant favorite.”  — Rachel Lynn Solomon, New York Times bestselling author of See You Yesterday

"Madeline is quick-witted, bright, and passionate... a lighthearted page-turner." — School Library Journal

"This enemies-to-lovers romance includes a business rivalry, a deadbeat mom, and a last-gasp attempt to save a family store... A solid rom-com." — Kirkus Reviews

"The You've Got Mail-style romance is well-executed in this debut." — Publishers Weekly

"Rooted as much in family as it is in cute banter, book nerdery, and sexual tension... You’ve Got Mail for teens." — Booklist

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062994493
  • ISBN 10: 0062994492
  • Imprint: HarperTeen
  • On Sale: 07/05/2022
  • Pages: 368
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Books & Libraries
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Performing Arts / Film
  • BISAC4 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Contemporary

A Disaster in Three Acts by Kelsey Rodkey

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.