Rock, Rosetta, Rock! Roll, Rosetta, Roll!

Presenting Sister Rosetta Tharpe, the Godmother of Rock & Roll

by Tonya Bolden

On Sale: 02/14/2023

Rock, Rosetta, Rock! Roll, Rosetta, Roll!

Presenting Sister Rosetta Tharpe, the Godmother of Rock & Roll

by Tonya Bolden

illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

On Sale: 02/14/2023

Format:

Bank Street Children’s Best Books of the Year

Cooperative Children’s Book Center Choice

New York Times Best Illustrated Book

About the Book

"A profile as bold and vivacious as the singer herself." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Terrific for all collections that want to inspire the musically inclined and highlight innovative pioneers." ALA Booklist (starred review)

"Bolden uses alliteration, assonance, repetition, and rhythm to create an irresistibly musical text that effectively communicates the feel of Tharpe's music. Christie's lively illustrations. . . capture the physicality of Tharpe's performance style and the intensity of her sound." —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Impressive offering about an often-overlooked figure in American music." The Horn Book (starred review)

“The marriage of Bolden’s words and Christie’s pictures is almost as satisfying as Tharpe’s songs.” —New York Times Book Review

Perfect for fans of Trombone Shorty and Ada’s Violin!

Award-winning author Tonya Bolden and acclaimed illustrator R. Gregory Christie deliver an inspiring true story about the life, career, and impact of twentieth-century blues and gospel singer Sister Rosetta Tharpe, who was a trailblazer for rock-and-roll. Includes a timeline of Sister Rosetta Tharpe’s life, an author’s note, and a list of sources.

Before there was Elvis, Chuck Berry, Little Richard, and Johnny Cash, there was Sister Rosetta Tharpe.

The godmother of rock-and-roll started as a little girl from Arkansas with music in her air, in her hair, in her bones, wiggling her toes. With a big guitar in hand and a big voice in her soul, she grew into a rock-and-roll trailblazer in a time when women were rarely seen rocking out. Her guitar picking was like nobody else’s!

Boogie along with this rockin’ tribute to the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer Sister Rosetta Tharpe by Coretta Scott King Honor–winning author Tonya Bolden and Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator R. Gregory Christie.

A CCBC 2024 Choices for the Arts selection!

Critical Praise

“A profile as bold and vivacious as the singer herself.” — Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Terrific for all collections that want to inspire the musically inclined and highlight innovative pioneers. "Booklist (starred review)

"Bolden uses alliteration, assonance, repetition, and rhythm to create an irresistibly musical text that effectively communicates the feel of Tharpe's music. Christie's lively illustrations. . . capture the physicality of Tharpe's performance style and the intensity of her sound." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“The marriage of Bolden’s words and Christie’s pictures is almost as satisfying as Tharpe’s songs. . .” — New York Times Book Review

"Impressive offering about an often-overlooked figure in American music." — Horn Book (starred review)

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062994387
  • ISBN 10: 0062994387
  • Imprint: HarperCollins
  • On Sale: 02/14/2023
  • Pages: 40
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 4 to 8
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Music
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / History / United States / 20th Century
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / People & Places / United States / African American
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE NONFICTION / Biography & Autobiography / Women

Rock, Rosetta, Rock! Roll, Rosetta, Roll! by Tonya Bolden

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.