The Black Flamingo

by Dean Atta

On Sale: 05/26/2020

The Black Flamingo

Enlarge Book Cover

The Black Flamingo

by Dean Atta

On Sale: 05/26/2020

Format:

Stonewall Award

About the Book

Stonewall Book Award Winner!

A fierce coming-of-age verse novel about identity and the power of drag, from acclaimed UK poet and performer Dean Atta. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jason Reynolds, and Kacen Callender.

Michael is a mixed-race gay teen growing up in London. All his life, he’s navigated what it means to be Greek-Cypriot and Jamaican—but never quite feeling Greek or Black enough.

As he gets older, Michael’s coming out is only the start of learning who he is and where he fits in. When he discovers the Drag Society, he finally finds where he belongs—and the Black Flamingo is born.

Told with raw honesty, insight, and lyricism, this debut explores the layers of identity that make us who we are—and allow us to shine.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“Courage and fierceness abound in this lyrical coming-of-age story…Gripping, unflinching, and unforgettable.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"The Black Flamingo is an essential addition to the canon of queer coming-of-age stories. Dean Atta has gifted us with words that are lyrical, hilarious and intimate. I’m obsessed with this book and you will be too." - Abdi Nazemian, author of Like a Love Story

“Celebratory and passionate, Atta’s bold verse novel calls to its readers to find their own blazing, performative inner truth”   - The Guardian

“Inspiring” - The Irish Times

“One of poetry’s greatest modern voices” - Gay Times

“Bold and joyous hymn to self-discover and acceptance” - Bookseller (UK)

“An excellent book to spark discussions, break down barriers, open peoples eyes to other lives” 4* - Independent Book Review

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062990297
  • ISBN 10: 0062990292
  • Imprint: Balzer + Bray
  • On Sale: 05/26/2020
  • Pages: 416
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Novels in Verse
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / LGBT
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Diversity & Multicultural

The Black Flamingo by

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.