The Initial Insult

by Mindy McGinnis

On Sale: 02/23/2021

The Initial Insult

Enlarge Book Cover

The Initial Insult

by Mindy McGinnis

On Sale: 02/23/2021

Format:

About the Book

In the first book of a suspenseful YA duology, award-winning author Mindy McGinnis draws inspiration from Edgar Allan Poe and masterfully delivers a dark, propulsive mystery in alternating points of view that unravels a friendship . . . forevermore. Perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Truly Devious!

Tress Montor’s family used to mean something—until she didn’t have a family anymore. When her parents disappeared seven years ago while driving her best friend home, Tress lost everything. The entire town shuns her now that she lives with her drunken, one-eyed grandfather at what locals refer to as the “White Trash Zoo.”

Felicity Turnado has it all: looks, money, and a secret. One misstep could send her tumbling from the top of the social ladder, and she’s worked hard to make everyone forget that she was with the Montors the night they disappeared. Felicity has buried what she knows so deeply that she can’t even remember what it is . . . only that she can’t look at Tress without feeling shame and guilt.

But Tress has a plan. A Halloween costume party at an abandoned house provides the ideal situation for Tress to pry the truth from Felicity—brick by brick—as she slowly seals her former best friend into a coal chute. Tress will have her answers—or settle for revenge.

Educator and Librarian Resources

Critical Praise

“If Edgar Allan Poe came back to write the scariest high school murder story ever, it probably wouldn’t be half as good as Mindy McGinnis’s The Initial Insult. You must read this book!”  - James Patterson

"Expertly crafted and absolutely chilling. Mindy McGinnis holds nothing back in this twisty, ruthlessly compelling story of a friendship gone wrong." - Karen M. McManus, #1 New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"Lush, dangerous, and deliciously twisty, The Initial Insult is an Appalachian Gothic for the ages. A smart and vital reworking of one of Poe's most chilling stories." - Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times bestselling author of the Charlotte Holmes series

Praise for The Female of the Species: “[A] gripping story that should be read and discussed by teens, as well as those who work with them.” - Booklist

“Each word has been specifically chosen, each character superbly and humanly sculpted, the plot line masterfully completed. McGinnis plays with the readers and they are at her mercy.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA) (starred review)

“McGinnis gracefully avoids the pitfalls of creating a teenage vigilante, instead maintaining a sense of piercing realism.” - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“An unflinching look at rape culture and its repercussions.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“This is an astoundingly dark but beautifully written tragedy.” - School Library Journal (starred review)

“[I]t’s raw. Not “raw for YA.” Real-deal raw. And violent. And unforgettable. McGinnis explores both and she goes there in a way no one really has before in YA.” - Globe and Mail (Toronto)

“Your heart may still be pounding after you’ve finished this book.” - New York Times Book Review

Praise for Heroine: “[A] realistic portrayal of how easy it is to develop an opiate addiction and the very real consequences of addiction. A timely and important message for teens everywhere.” - Booklist

“A compassionate, compelling, and terrifying story about a high school softball player’s addiction to opioids. The writing is visceral, and following Mickey as she rationalizes about her addiction is educative and frightening. A cautionary tale that exposes the danger of prescription medications by humanizing one victim of America’s current epidemic.” - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Praise for Be Not Far from Me: "McGinnis' visceral and emotional tale features a strong, stubborn, and alarmingly capable protagonist with unwavering respect for the natural world... Impossible to put down." - Kirkus Reviews

"McGinnis is known for writing tough female protagonists and gritty realism, and she holds nothing back in this latest novel. Ashley is angry, vulnerable, smart, and compelling, and her journey is marked by setbacks, terror, and plenty of gross-out moments. This captivating, fast-paced novel is Hatchet for an older crowd. Highly recommended where adventure and survival fiction are popular." - School Library Journal

Praise for This Darkness Mine: “Rich imagery and a ruthless protagonist propel the novel forward to its shocking, ominous conclusion.” - Booklist

Praise for A Madness So Discreet: “McGinnis excels at rich character development; every person readers meet makes a dramatic impact on the story and on Grace.” - School Library Journal

“McGinnis can surely tell a story.” - USA Today

Praise for Not a Drop to Drink: “The intensity of action moves the story forward, but not at the expense of character development. The honest and hopeful ending-while not ‘happily ever after’—will resonate with readers and leave them asking for more.” - Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Those in search of fierce female survivalist characters need look no further than this.” - Booklist

Resources

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062982421
  • ISBN 10: 0062982427
  • Imprint: Katherine Tegen Books
  • On Sale: 02/23/2021
  • Pages: 384
  • List Price:21.99 CAD
  • BISAC1 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Thrillers & Suspense
  • BISAC2 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Class Differences
  • BISAC3 : YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Lifestyles / Country Life

The Initial Insult by Mindy McGinnis

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.