Measuring Up

by Lily LaMotte

On Sale: 10/27/2020

Measuring Up

Enlarge Book Cover

Measuring Up

by Lily LaMotte

illustrated by Ann Xu

On Sale: 10/27/2020

Format:

IndieBound Indie Next List

Junior Library Guild Selection

About the Book

An ALA Top 10 Graphic Novel of 2021 · A Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection · Fall 2020 Kids Indie Next List · Featured in Today Show’s AAPI Heritage Month List · Amazon Best Books November Selection · Cybils Awards Finalist · An NBC AAPI Selection · Featured in Parents Magazine Book Nook October issue · A CBC Hot off the Press October Selection · WA State Book Awards Finalist · Texas Library Association Little Maverick Selection

For fans of American Born Chinese and Roller Girl, Measuring Up is a don't-miss graphic novel debut from Lily LaMotte and Ann Xu!

“A beautiful story about food, family, and finding your place in the world.” —Gene Luen Yang, author of American Born Chinese and Dragon Hoops

“A delicious and heartwarming exploration of identity by a young immigrant trying to find her place in multiple cultures.” —Remy Lai, author of Pie in the Sky and Fly on the Wall

Twelve-year-old Cici has just moved from Taiwan to Seattle, and the only thing she wants more than to fit in at her new school is to celebrate her grandmother, A-má’s, seventieth birthday together.

Since she can’t go to A-má, Cici cooks up a plan to bring A-má to her by winning the grand prize in a kids’ cooking contest to pay for A-má’s plane ticket! There’s just one problem: Cici only knows how to cook Taiwanese food.

And after her pickled cucumber debacle at lunch, she’s determined to channel her inner Julia Child. Can Cici find a winning recipe to reunite with A-má, a way to fit in with her new friends, and somehow find herself too?

Critical Praise

"An aspiring young chef discovers her innate resourcefulness and the courage of her convictions…Hints of superhero identity lurk throughout this textured graphic novel filled with heart and humor, centering girls with budding ambitions, subverting tropes, and celebrating everyday heroes…Word to the wise: Readers should not pick up this book while hungry unless they have treats nearby such as Taiwanese minced pork over rice, or at least a bubble tea to go with that pineapple cake and zucchini chocolate cookie…Bold and nuanced, this intercultural 'cook book' dishes up hearty morsels well worth savoring." — Kirkus Reviews

“This is a lively graphic novel about a girl finding her way in a new country where her identity is persistently misunderstood…an important reminder of connection between loved ones in cooking as in life…" — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

"Cici is a plucky, bighearted protagonist, tackling head-on the many challenges her new circumstances throw at her, such as coping with a steady barrage of microaggressions, trying to fit in, and finding a way to reconcile the demands of American kid-hood with her parents’ hopes and expectations. Bright, full-color illustrations bring the story to life...Purchase wherever feel-good family stories are in demand, and recommend especially to readers who love cooking-filled comics." — School Library Journal

“This sweet, family-oriented graphic novel celebrates cultural traditions and new beginnings in equal measure...First-time author LaMotte brings an obvious love of food and cooking to a positive story that aspiring young chefs will devour. Xu’s manga-influenced full-color illustrations set a gentle tone to this highly appealing story of new beginnings.” — Booklist

“LaMotte’s accessible writing resonates in sketching a diaspora experience and Xu’s simple, inviting illustrations will charm young readers… in LaMotte and Xu’s capable hands, the result is heartwarming fare that will appeal to all.” — Publishers Weekly

“The increasingly suspenseful elimination rounds of the contest give this funny, fast-paced narrative its dramatic arc. And the graphic novel format, featuring Xu’s big-eyed characters, clean lines and simple, playful aesthetic, is a perfect vehicle, allowing readers to see for themselves what Cici’s creative rice dishes look like….The happy ending, meanwhile, is as satisfying as a juicy dumpling.” — New York Times Book Review

“Measuring Up…can be a useful tool for parents and guardians to teach their tweens to honor their cultural heritage and to find the courage to be unique.”  — Mochi Magazine

-

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062973870
  • ISBN 10: 0062973878
  • Imprint: HarperAlley
  • On Sale: 10/27/2020
  • Pages: 208
  • List Price:28.50 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Comics & Graphic Novels / Humorous
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Asian American
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Cooking & Food

Measuring Up by Lily LaMotte

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.