Only Only Marisol Rainey

by Erin Entrada Kelly

On Sale: 05/02/2023

Only Only Marisol Rainey

Enlarge Book Cover

Only Only Marisol Rainey

by Erin Entrada Kelly

illustrated by Erin Entrada Kelly

On Sale: 05/02/2023

Format:

About the Book

When a neighbor’s big, scary dog goes missing, it seems like only Marisol is worried he’s up to no good. But is there more to this lost-dog story than meets the eye?

From Newbery Medal– and Newbery Honor–winning author Erin Entrada Kelly, Only Only Marisol Rainey is a highly illustrated young middle-grade novel about friendship, facing your fears, and the power of compassion, friendship, and empathy. This stand-alone companion to Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey and Surely Surely Marisol Rainey is perfect for fans of Ivy + Bean, Merci Suárez, and Ramona.

 A dangerous beast is on the loose in Marisol Rainey's neighborhood! At least, Marisol thinks it’s a dangerous beast. She's never actually met the neighbor’s dog officially, but surely a big German shepherd can’t be anything else. That’s why she and her BFF Jada nicknamed him “Daggers.”

When the Missing Dog posters around town reveal that his real name is Gregory, Marisol's fears don’t ease up one bit. He may be Gregory at home, but when he’s freely roaming the neighborhood with nothing to hold him back, he’s Daggers and nothing else.

When Marisol tries to sleep, the image of Daggers and his sharp teeth comes to mind. Marisol doesn't even want to ride her bike anymore. What if Daggers leaps out of the bushes, knocks her over, and eats her? She feels like she can’t rest until she knows Daggers has been returned to her neighbor’s backyard. Strangely, no one else seems all that concerned for their safety. Only Marisol.

Is Daggers big and super scary looking? Maybe. Is Marisol afraid? Surely. Will she eventually learn that there’s more to Daggers than meets the eye? Only if she faces her fears.

Only Only Marisol Rainey is told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on almost every page, making it perfect for readers ready for a short and accessible novel. Erin Entrada Kelly’s stand-alone companion to Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey and Surely Surely Marisol Rainey celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, the power of compassion, and the triumph of persevering. For readers of Kevin Henkes, Andrew Clements, Judy Blume, and Beverly Cleary.

Product Details

  • ISBN: 9780062970480
  • ISBN 10: 0062970488
  • Imprint: Greenwillow Books
  • On Sale: 05/02/2023
  • Pages: 160
  • List Price:23.99 CAD
  • Ages: 8 to 12
  • BISAC1 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship
  • BISAC2 : JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance
  • BISAC3 : JUVENILE FICTION / Humorous Stories
  • BISAC4 : JUVENILE FICTION / Animals / Dogs
  • BISAC5 : JUVENILE FICTION / Imagination & Play
  • BISAC6 : JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / Asian American

Only Only Marisol Rainey by Erin Entrada Kelly, Erin Entrada Kelly

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the web site's home page.

Other Booksellers

The broadest selection of online bookstores. The links will take you to the Web site's home page.

SELECT:

Specialty Booksellers

Interest-specific online venues and gift accounts that offer books for purchase. The links will take you to the store’s home page.

International Customers

If you are located outside Canada, the best way to order online is to choose from the following bookstores listed by region and country.